Arrival


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 15th 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Journey Begins!

Detroit - Tokyo : 13.5 Hours Tokyo - Bangkok : 7.5 Hours Total Travel Time : Approx. 24 Hours

Tokyo Narita Airport, JapanTokyo Narita Airport, JapanTokyo Narita Airport, Japan

My first squat toilet!
I made it safely and found Maren and Maria pretty easily once I got here. The first flight wasn't bad, except I sat next to this guy who talked my ear off and sounded like he was performing a monologue when he spoke and annoyed the crap out of me. I literally had other passengers looking at me with sympathy throughout the 13 hours! I met a nice American couple with an 11 month old little boy and they lived in Japan for work and gave me a few helpful tips about saving money, so that was good. By the time I got into Tokyo and through to my gate they were already boarding. I went to use the bathroom and it was my first squat toilet and I couldn't stop laughing while I was using it, then I came out and realized that all the other toilets in the ladies room were normal, they were just full when I went in, so I had assumed they were all the squat kind!! hahahha! It cracked me up. The second flight was good, I sat next to a Thai guy who was born and raised in Bangkok and taught me lots of good sayings. He told me to always say Kob Kahn Ka whenever I ask for anything, especially food and they'll give me extra noodles! :-) So that was very refreshing after the guy on the first flight, but I ended up sleeping a lot on that flight, which was definitely needed. I met a guy on my flight from Canada and he's traveling alone, so he's sticking with us for a bit. Him and I went through immigration and everything and got our bags, then found Maren and Maria with a bunch of American guys drinking beers in the airport (they had one waiting for me of course!) and we all left together to get a hostel. I am so happy to see Maren, I'm having a blast already. And Maria is a sweetheart.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb