The Daunting Task of Packing is Upon Me!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Rochester Hills
January 11th 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends! And welcome to my first blog. Thanks for cruising my way on the information highway! This blogging thing is pretty cool, eh?!

So, I spent last night out at Bailey's, a farewell of sorts, with good friends. Thanks to all of you who braved the Michigan weather and came out for a good time. A great time actually, and as a result, today's been a slow go in which I've avoided most necessary activities, drank a lot of tea and coffee and played a lot of Wii.

So, here I am on a cold, blistering evening in Detroit, Michigan as I pack and prepare for my next two months of travel. By pack and prepare, I really mean procrastinate and write this blog. The packing will come with the sense of urgency, I imagine.

I take off early tomorrow afternoon for a 13 1/2 hour flight from Detroit to Tokyo, with a quick two hour layover, then on board for a 7 1/2 hour flight from Tokyo to Bangkok. My traveling buddies, Maren and Maria, will be flying into Bangkok and arrive a perfectly timed 30 minutes before I land. I am expecting to walk off the plane and fall straight into Maren's open arms at which point I will sing a bit of Eric Clapton's "Hello Old Friend" and be grateful for some revived energy; just enough to get me to a hostel for a long-anticipated night of sleep.

So to all who read, please don't hesitate to comment, because every bit of home always lifts the heart and lightens the spirit! And since I'm avoiding packing so successfully, this will probably be one of my longer posts, so swing back by for quick reads of the many enlightened travels to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb