And This Is My Story


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 20th 2005
Published: January 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Angkor Wat and the Sun RiseAngkor Wat and the Sun RiseAngkor Wat and the Sun Rise

This is Chikako and I watching the sun rise over Angkor Wat.
The magic behind taking a trip without any specific plan or expectation is that it

leaves little room for disappointment. Having an ''anything goes'' mindset provided

me with numerous opportunities to get myself into several situations (some better than

others) that usually ended with very rewarding endings. Moreover, traveling alone not only

made me more approachable for others、but it also literally forced me interact with the

locals and other fellow travelers. Each day I was able to meet many new and interesting

people. Some days I would travel with those I met for lengthy amounts of time while other

days we would simply share conversation over beer in a bar, or on a night bus to our next

destination. One of my greatest observations was that the majority of the other travelers

that I met while in South East Asia had been traveling or planned to travel for several

months or even years. My 30 day pilgrimage was only a mere drop in the bucket when

compared with others. For example, I met one man from New Zealand that quit his job 4

years ago and began traveling
My travel partnerMy travel partnerMy travel partner

This is my bag. It was the perfect size. Some thought I was crazy, but this bag was hassle free.
and still hasn’t stopped. Another observation that I

made is that 95 percent of those traveling have too much stuff. Before I departed from

Japan I made a decision to travel as light as possible. I brought with me 2 pair of

clothes, one of which I was wearing, a travel journal, my camera (which was stolen the

second night I arrived) my mp3 player, a good book (which I always traded at my guest house

or with other travelers for a new book when I had finished) and lastly a few toiletries.

I loved it when the drivers said,

''Where are your bags?''

My trip began in Central Bangkok, Thailand where I began my trip by visiting some old

friends that April and I spent time with last July. After visiting friends, the rest of my

time was consumed by wondering around the streets trying to soak up as much as

possible. At one point I asked a woman who appeared to be in her early forties for

directions. Because she was heading in the same general direction she offered to take me

with her. Together we boarded a slow boat, but only after she paid 10 baht to release a

snake back into the river that had been captured. She said a prayer and then we

began talking. She explained to me that her she had an appointment with a Buddhist monk

for the next day she was traveling to Paris, France and she needed to wash her hands in

the Holy Water so that she would have safe trip. When I asked her if I could take my

picture with her she explained that today having her picture taken was forbidden

because she would be going to the temple. Because she thought I might have been

disappointed that I wasn’t able to take her picture she immediately pointed to some

people on the riverside, and explained that they were Muslims and that I could take their

picture instead, so I did.

From Chang Mai, Thailand I moved further north to the

Thailand / Laos border. From there I boarded a 2 day slow boat that slowly (seriously, it

was slow) took me and several others including bags of rice, dead chickens, and

endless amounts of other cargo packed in like sardines down the Mekong River. We stayed

the night in a small village town where upon arrival I was offered drugs, sex, massage,

accommodation, and food. I decided to get the package deal so I could get sex, drugs,

massage, accommodation, and food for the best price. I thought it would be a better

bargain. Only kidding, but I did have dinner at a makeshift restaurant that offered free

whiskey and peanuts with every order. My most memorable moment in Laos was meeting a

boy that lives in New York City and his friend that lives in Vientiane, Laos. After

renting a motorcycle for the day (I rent them in Thailand and Laos too) I ventured out into

the city so I could get lost and paint the town. At my first stop, a temple, I began to

chat with the boy now living in NYC. I learned that upon graduation from his

university, he decided to vacation to Laos so that he could explore his heritage for the

first time- both his parents were born in Laos. This day also happened to be New Years

Eve and after hours of exploring the city via motor bike they invited me to their New Years

Eve Party at their friend’s house. Amongst 30 people we all shared laughter, sang

karaoke, ate, and D R A N K. The understood rule was that anyone could say ''Happy New

Year'' when ever they wanted too and at that time everyone should drink. They also took

turns regulating when and how much everyone drank, giving you shots of whiskey, or

glasses of beer when they thought you hadn’t had enough- this was every 5 seconds.

Because the party started around 8:00 in the evening, so that I could remember the New

Year I only drank when I was given a drink and pretended to drink when we all drank in

unison. From this party, according to my friends, we went to which was the hottest night

club in Laos and we danced into the morning. From this night club we went to some after

party and continued the festivities even earlier into the morning.

I slept the entire next day.

Because the south of Laos was so incredible, I didn’t want to leave to venture into

Cambodia. I had to force myself out of my hammock on the balcony of my one dollar a

night bungalow over looking the Mekong River into a boat, and then a tuktuk, and then a

bus, and then another bus, and another bus, and lastly a minivan before arriving in Siam

Reap, Cambodia almost 2 days later. The ride from the Thailand border into Cambodia Siam

Reap was the roughest and most exciting rides I have ever had in my life and probably ever

will have. This doesn't really give the experience justice but for example, during

the day the headlights of the cars must remain on so

they can see the other cars when driving - It's that dusty! When I finally

arrived I made 2 new friends, one from Tokyo, Japan and another from Belgium. We spent the

entire week together. My Japanese friend and I rode into Angkor Wat by bicycle early in

the morning so that we could see the sun rise and we stayed the entire day so that we could

watch the sun set. Moving from Ankor Wat to Phnom Penh、the capital city of Cambodia was

by far the most relaxing journey and also the most expensive. For around 25 dollars I

could take a boat along the same Mekong River (It's really long and extends through several

countries) but the best part is that I could ride on the roof of the boat (and there was

room to sleep too) and watch clips of life happening the entire way as we passed naked

children playing in the river, men fishing, women doing laundry, etc. When we arrived, I

couldn’t believe that I had been on the boat for 8 hours - that’s how nice of a time I was

having. I became sick twice on my trip, once in Northern Laos and the other time in Phnom

Penh. The second time was the worst. Just days before heading back towards Bangkok I

ate something that gave me food poisoning. Thankfully, my new friends and my guest house

took good care of me and I was able to get back to Thailand in one piece. By chance I

met 5 other students from my school in Osaka that were also spending their time traveling

across South East Asia. I met one classmate twice, once in Thailand and then another time

at my guesthouse in Cambodia. It really is a small world, isn’t it?

Lastly, when I arrived back in Bangkok I met up with some friends that I made during the

front end of my trip. They too took great care of me letting me go to their mansion so

that I could rest, shower, and get ready to return to Japan. We went to the theater to

watch a Thai movie (English subtitles) and shopping in the Big C Super Store (It's

actually owned by Wal Mart) where I bought fun things that I cant get in Japan or that

are too expensive to buy in Japan. Then they took me to the airport along with their

friends, showered me with love, gifts, and lots of stomach medicine. Next, I boarded my

plane for return to Osaka, Japan. Upon my arrival to Japan, I boarded a train and came

to Tokyo where I am now. I am spending time with 4 good friends of mine and I plan to be

here until the end of the month. I bought a brand new camera, caught up on some sleep,

and now I going to eat some dinner. For those of you who love pictures, don’t worry

they will come when I return to Osaka. I bought several disposable cameras and had

them turned into digital pictures so that I could share them with you. I can’t possibly

explain everything that happened during my trip, but rest assured that is was a

worthwhile and extremely beneficial experience.  As always, thanks for reading

and keeping up with me.

Regards,
Spencer

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb