Coming Home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Have arrived in the city of Angels!!
Raining, 31 degs, busy, cars everywhere, people everywhere, no one sleeps! Welcome back to the real world!
I have been to some amazing places this holiday. In the UK I made it to places I had never been to before - so glad to see what I have wanted to see. History - what made this world.. Life of today.. lived it in the burbs.. visited castles, the churches, cathedrals, small village pubs, mixed with the locals.. thats what it is all about. Living and knowing how other people live. Met some fantastic people along the way. Some I will never see again and some that I have connected with famously and have formed firm friendships with. My tour of Egypt and Jordan was I could say the highlight of my holiday. A place that I had only dreamt of and read about and marvelled at -a place so amazing and awesome that until you see it in person and feel it and touch it, you cannot imagine how it feels. From my first sighting of the Pyramids, to my last look at Petra as I walked back through the Siq, they are all burnt in my mind forever. I have taken so many pictures to keep alive my time here. I have embarked on some various forms of travel - hot air ballon, donkey, camel, horses and that amazing ferry jorney from Egypt to Jordan... to coin Moniques phrase " we felt like refugees"! (Monique in our group was our "Laura Croft" -she has been on some amazing travels and continues now to Morrocco for more advenures after being away 6 months!)
The boat trip was hilarious and even though I was suffering from a sprained ankle, I was glad in the end to walk off the ferry and into the arms of the Bus Driver Mr Saad! He was so taken back by the fact that I just hugged him and kissed him hello - but he loved it!!
There is so much out there to see.. a dream for me came true. Not where I had intended to travel to as some of you all know. Italy was my dream destination.. still is, but this adventure was an appetizer as to what one can do on a holiday. I love the beaches and the laid back holidays, but they can be at the end of an adventure like this. Do it while you are young enough to enjoy the sometimes arduous agenda - that's my agenda now...
Home Tuesday morning and will be at dancing Tuesday night, although won't be dancing!! Thanks to all who sent me messages over the last 6 weeks and thanks for letting me share my days and stories with you... Ma as-salaamah, Au revoir, Ciao, Senebti, Auf Wiedersehen, Sampai jumpa lagi, Dewa mata.. See you all later!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb