Over jet lag


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 9th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I feel like a human being again. I was able to get about 6 hours of sleep last night and feel fine.

I went jogging for the second time this morning at Lumpini Park. It's similar to Central Park in New York. There are several ponds with boats for hire. There are people all over jogging, doing tai chi, yoga, and working out on exercise equipment that the city has provided in the park. There are hundreds of people here in the morning. You have to see it to believe it. There is also an outdoor swimming pool for lap swimmers. This morning there was an outdoor aerobics class that began at 6 am and there must of been at least 50 people participating. There is another aerobics class at about 5 pm as well. The park is closed to traffic so it is extremely safe. I take the Sky Train from my hotel and get to the park in about 10 minutes. The Sky Train is a monorail that is extremely efficient. I got a free day pass on the Sky Train from my hotel as part of the room rate.

Last night I went to dinner with a woman I met online last year named Will. We went to dinner and her aunt joined us as well. Her aunt has a retail business selling womans clothes and fragrances. It's an outdoor shop. These outdoor shops are all over here since the weather is so nice. The restaurant we went to, MK, was written up in the business page today. What a coincidence.

Regarding the weather, it has been beautiful. It is in the 80's during the day and goes down the low 70's at night. Absolutely perfect. I have had to put sun block on in the morning since I felt a little red from being on the ferry getting all the reflected sun.

This afternoon I am going to the Bumrungrad Hospital for my dental appointment. I will let you know how that went tomorrow.

Excuse any typos you find. There is no typo finder here and I am using keyboards at internet cafes that all have a different feel.

I haven't taken many pics yet but I hope to correct that soon. After all, today is only my second day here.

My hotel is very nice. I have a deluxe room on the fifteenth floor of a seventeen floor hotel on a non-smoking floor, all for $50 a night inc. taxes. There are two outdoor pools and an exercise room, none of which i have used as of yet. There are many europeans here and was surprised to see many women topless at the pool when I went to check it out. My hotel is the Asia Hotel Bangkok and is centrally located. I highly recommend it. They don't provide breakfast but I have hot water and tea and coffee in the room. They deliver a fruit plate every day and an english language newspaper. A robe and slippers are in the room too.

To get to where I am today I took the Sky Train and a water taxi. Nice way to avoid Bangkok's auto traffic which can be brutal during the day. Public transportation seems to be very good. And taxis are cheap. A 40 minute taxi ride from the airport to the hotel (at 1 am so there was no traffice) cost only $5. Most cab rides in town cost less than $2. Not bad at all.

That's it for now. Bye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb