Yawn... Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I find Bangkok to be such a stifling city. There is something about the heat and humidity. The motos, tuk-tuks, and cars. The vendors and the pollution....Fuck it. You get the idea. I could on and on but who wants to hear somebody bitch. Right.

So the good. If you know where to look you can find some great things at a cheap price, just as long as you don't buy it in Khao San. I bought about 150 necklaces and bracelets for $100. I just shipped them back in a box. The other great thing about Bangkok is that you know your mail will get where it is going. I don't have any plans of walking into a Cambodian post office (if there even is one) and sending shit.

The other great thing about Bangkok is all the street food. I know everywhere has it, but Khao San just has such a concentration of great street food. I love it. It is always nice to get my $0.65 pad thai. mmmm mmm damn good. Jeff had a good time there doing a shit load of shopping i Think he spent around $200. Nice to have that kind of
Heading into China TownHeading into China TownHeading into China Town

I think China Town is one of the worst smelling spots in Bangkok
budget for souvenirs.

Wen to China town this time to check out the shopping, but all they had was clothes. I think maybe at the end of my trip I will check my money situation and perhaps I can get a new wardrobe there. Considering the fact that I will be passing through Bangkok 3 or 4 more times on this trip I can wait.

Another interesting fact. Bangkok did not go up in price. The island had a huge jump in food prices, transport and basic recreation vs. Bangkok where the only prices that went up where transport.

I very much am looking forward to traveling alone. I want to be on my own schedule and take my time. Jeff has such a short time and we are redoing places I have already been, I wish I had little more time in each country to go to the places I have not been. But soon When I, Ignatious Crumple, am traveling alone in new and foreign lands... the adventure will begin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Freaked outFreaked out
Freaked out

Does he like a little scared to you
GrimaceGrimace
Grimace

He always has that look on his face. Perhaps it is still culture shock.
Remember this placeRemember this place
Remember this place

Hey Warner we stayed here again.


3rd July 2008

What stink's?
Dear Brett, I know what he is thinking and it isn't culture shock..He is thinking " What stinks and boy am I glad I don't live here!!!" You would have more money to shop if you went to less cities but it is all about choices and I think you made the right one. Keep on traveling and seeing as much as you can. We miss you. Did I say Happy Birthday? Love MOm

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb