Julie on Post-Op Alex


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 15th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We went back to the Lasik center for Alex’s 2nd follow up appointment today. His right eye is perfectly healed but the left is not. It’s healing ok, just needs few more days. What this means for Alex (for both of us, really) is another day stuck in the dark hotel room trying to sleep. We’ve been staying at Charlie Guesthouse in Lumpini, which is both cheap and clean but doesn’t boast much else. I wanted to move us to another hotel , one a bit more upscale but Alex isn’t really ready to get up and start moving around yet. We’ve got room service, clean sheets and an air conditioner so perhaps I shouldn’t worry.

Bangkok= smog, hugely overweight mangy lazy dogs, unidentifiable meats on sticks, “bird’s nest collagen remedy drink” for sale in 7-11, “hey, where you go??”, mopeds with 3 or 4 people on them at once, lady boys ( just what it sounds like!) chattering on cell phones, fat white men in Hawaiian shirts with tiny little Thai women, pad thai on street corners, weird American-sounding signs such as “ I love fit shape!”. More later.

Went for a walk in Lumpini Park early yesterday , just before 7 AM, and watched people exercise. In a huge expanse of grass around a clock tower, a speaker blared some type of tinny aerobics music while 100 or so elderly Thai people followed the movements of an (also elderly) instructor. It looked like a cross between the chicken dance and water aerobics, if you can imagine that.

My dinner last night didn’t sit well. I ordered phat thai with shrimp, but what I got was the entire shrimp family reunion with a few noodles and sauce. The whole family tree was sacrificed for my dinner. I got big old granddaddy shrimp ( big as my thumb), medium sized momma shrimp, teenaged shrimp, and teenaged shrimp’s little infant shrimp (half the size of my pinky nail). None of these were shelled of course, so the plate was as much noodle as antenna and eyeballs, which didn’t bother me until I realized the little ones were impossible to peel. They also tasted like warm 5 day old salmon. Probably shouldn’t have eaten them. I have a feeling I’ll be saying that a lot on this trip.


Advertisement



16th November 2007

AC
Don't get used to that air conditioner. I had a great collection of pictures of all the crazy English signs but lost a lot of them when my computer crashed. One of my favorites was "Lets get back to our Natures." I works on so many levels.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb