Post Op Alex says: 2016....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 15th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

….20 slash 16 that is. Which is a tentative assumption of what my vision will be once my eyes have finished healing. Also, if you’re thinking that your eyeball is a great place to shoot a laser then you probably got really great taste in laser-shooting locations. The procedure I had was not lasik, but something called PRK. It’s virtually the same procedure but the healing process is longer more painful, and more involved. PRK was recommended in my case because I have thin corneas. But I’m healing well and look forward to being able to see clearly and unaided for the first time in 15 or so years.

This facility is crazy. For cleanliness and professionalism it’s light years beyond anything I could have expected. There are dozens of attendants and consultants waiting on me hand and foot but everything is still remarkably personal. At one point at the end of my pre-op exam, they tool me into a room to put dilating solution in my eyes. There were big fancy chairs, all covered in white satin (?) sheets . They were super comfortable. I sat down in one. The lady reclined it, and then she covered me with a blanket.. Then she told me the solution would sting and she dropped it in my eye. And about the time that I thought “snikeys, that does sting” the chair started massaging me. Sweet. This is just reflective of the kind of facility we’re dealing with. Anyway, since I’m dictating this to Julie we’ll call it quits for now. When I can see again, I’ll blog about the country and the trip. Also I’ve been a drugged out strung out irritable mess since the surgery. And Julie has been a saint in dealing with my shit. For example, typing this blog. GIPfunny


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb