Shop Till You Drop.....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 16th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My last few days in Bangkok I decieded to hit the shops and look for some bargains and stock up on my already overloading backpack. Hitting The suan Luam night bizzare,the MBK in Bangkok which is HUGE!! Siam square etc ,i found a few sweet t shirts and polos for no more than 2 quid. Back Of the net.......
A trip along the canal to get a view from the river of wat arun and the odd families living along it was done and my last night spent watching the muay thai.
I think I missed the main event (there was 2 events day and night) cos the evening one was pretty empty.Apart from the crazy thai bookies waving there hands and fingers at any shift in action.
On the way in I got stopped by a thai woman who started going mental when i told her i was from near Liverpool.Blushing covering her face like I was Xabi Alonso.She was dilarious(?)Kept blushing and hiding her face as she spoke about it.I missed the first fight cos i couldnt get away from her!!.Saying how much the Thais love Gerrard and his spirit.I said Id pass it on next time i see him out.Its happened a lot,the thais LOVE liverpool theres tuk tuks with Liverpool emblazened on them,People have said "LIVERPOOL YOU NEVER WALK ALONE!!" or "PETER CROUCH HE MY FRIEND" its so funny. But yeah anyway the Muay Thai was sweet.7 fights all really good fight and the last 2 were amazing Kos the second to last a B-E-A utiful knee to the face on the way down to the ground and the second more of a boxing match but a great fight ending with a Ko I masterfully caught on my camera.So a good night indeed.I decieded to get a motorbike taxi home (my first)...Now ive been on plenty now but this was frightening they weave through all the cars on any side of the road then do about 80 down the wrong lane sometimes..its great fun but for the first time and in Bangkok were the traffic is mayhem....my little white shorts nearly saw a change of colour.
Sooooooo Bangkok,I loved the place its totally mad,you can see one extreme to the other in one street,it never dies down,always in your face but in a nice way most of the time.Allthough I had started to have enough of getting cased the second I step out of my room....all in all a good few days.......but im ready for a change........and a beach

Bangkok....I hate to see you go....but I love to watch you leave


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MBKMBK
MBK

Biggest Shopping Centre I ever did see


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb