Sri Lanka Escapade


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
February 4th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Before leaving Paris and heading back to Berkeley, California on March 1st for several months, I signed up with a French tour operator for a 2-week trip to Sri Lanka. The trip is called "Temples and Coconut Trees" and, in addition to a tour of the main tourist sites, it includes 5 days on a beach. Unfortunately,though, the tour operator forgot to mention that Sri Lanka has been having terrible storms, floods and mudslides and that close to a million people have had to flee their homes.

When I found out about this two weeks ago, after seeing some shocking photos on the BBC, I called up the agency and said: "Shouldn't tours be cancelled then?" They replied that the floods were on the eastern part of the island, so since we'd be on the western coast and in the mountains, the tour would go on! I'd have lost a lot of money in cancellation fees, so I'm going. But I have some apprehensions about this, especially since I don't want to be a "voyeur" who's having a holiday when people are destitute.


And so it's off on February 9th to the country that was formerly called Ceylon. As I'm taking Gulf Air to get there, we'll be stopping over several hours in Bahrain, which, like Sri Lanka, is another island country. Located near the western shores of the Persian Gulf, it is ruled by the Al Khalifa royal family.


Please look for future blog entries to see how the trip transpires. I may not have easy Internet access while out there, but if I don't, I promise to write about my "Sri Lanka Escapade" when I return.








In the meantime, I'd like to say that being "home" in Paris for the Christmas holidays and throughout January was fun. Although quite cold at one point, the weather turned warmer after New Year's. Of course, there have been the usual Parisian grey and dreary winter skies, but I was very busy visiting with my children (plus their partners and my baby granddaughter Elea), seeing friends, and doing all the other things I usually do when here (cultural events, author talks at the American Library and at bookshops, book club and other meetings of other clubs and associations , doctors' visits, etc., etc.) that the time just flew. To be honest, apart from the weather, I actually quite like the life in Paris during the winter. It's bustling and "everyone" is around, unlike during the summer, when meetings and activities come to a halt and most of the people I know are off on holiday. And being back in my neighborhood is a bit like putting on old slippers again.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

a cold Paris daya cold Paris day
a cold Paris day

and one when the sun was shining!


7th February 2011

you amaze me!
Between touring to Sri Lanka in rainy weather, visiting with family in France and friends in USA, I'd love to know how you do it all! Look forward to catching up and reading the details of your trips that I live vicariously! all the best, Maureen
7th February 2011

sri lanka
i think you are going to love sri lanka, i did. betty
7th February 2011

I like your blog article
Hi I like your blog article, specially "especially since I don't want to be a "voyeur" who's having a holiday when people are destitute. " waaw!!!!! By the way visit this site www.islesrilanka.com and find more about sri lanka.
7th February 2011

bravo, toujours en escapade!
j'ai été contente d'avoir de tes nouvelles et je me demandais d'où elles allaient venir, tu es toujours en forme, bravo, bises, Janick.
7th February 2011

Sri Lanka
Just to wish you a wonderful trip. I'm sure you will have a really good time and a voyage of discovery. Look forward to hearing about it when you get back! Bise Sandra
7th February 2011

Bon voyage (aventureux)! Et à bientôt en Californie. Bisous. Jacqueline
8th February 2011

bon voyage
Chere Hilary - Best wishes for a safe and satisfying journey. I just finished reading an article on Sri Lanka by Jon Lee Anderson in the New Yorker (Jan 17), "Death of the Tiger." Friends from Innsbruck were there surfing several months ago. Loved the beaches but the cross-island roads to get to them left much to be desired. As always, thanks for news from Paris. We're off to Australia next week for our son's wedding in Brisbane. Now there's a place that's been weather walloped lately! Jack* + Louise
8th February 2011

peter@jarrett-net.com
Have a great time Hilary. I doubt you will feel anything like a voyeur. Looking forward to hearing about it. Cheers, Peter
9th February 2011

Bon Voyage! et COURAGE!
Today's the day you're travelling and I just saw a report on CNN that said the southern part of the country was most affected by flooding, which includes Colombo.... hope you are safe and well... and dry! Storm is moving off and rain should stop soon they say. It has suddenly turned warm here in Hanoi, so if you need to make a detour, come ahead! You are such an intrepid traveller... and never a voyeur! Hugs, Elaine
10th February 2011

It'll hurt the tourist industry and people whose incomes depend on it if you did cancel when going to an area where no tragedy hit so that they will be hurt by the flooding too even if it did not happen there. The main thing is that you go and be where you are safe....
15th February 2011

welcome
Hi everyone, i really enjoyed reading all your blogs on Sri Lanka. What ever happen in Sri Lanka tourists are safe in this country. belive me. deepal perera Journalist, Daily Mirror Sri Lanka

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb