In the Midst of Monsoon...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello there friends and family!
Here is another one of my long awaited updates...The past couple of weeks have flown by at an unbelievably fast past. It seems that the weeks are flying by and the weekends seem to go even faster. But life is good and I am keeping busy as usual. Last weekend was Canada Day in Seoul. I met up with some friends (actually the one girl, Tamara is my friend Ashley's cousin) and we attended a huge celebration at a nearby campground called Nanji Campground. Finding this place was an adventure in itself and we actually walked about an hour and a half in the wrong direction before we realized that we were lost and in need of some direction. But after a quick beer stop and some help from some speedy cab drivers we were on our way. Although it rained for the majority of the day, the fellow Canadians and Koreans that were there did not let that dampen their spirits. There was this wicked band there, actually its the new band that is playing at the Hyatt, and they put on a great show. There was some mud fighting, good ol' "Alberta" beef (well I jsut pretended it was) and some good brew to help everyone kick off the festival. It was a great day and I avoided the mud as best I could but I did get accosted by one Korean that thought I should go in. Thankfully I was holding my camera and that saved me! But it sure did look like fun.
The weather here has been so off and on lately. We are in the middle of Monsoon season and let me tell you, it gives a whole new meaning to "When it rains, IT POURS". There are days when I wake up and it is just terrential down pour outside. Or sometimes at night there are these amazing thunder and lighting storms that are almost scary to watch! I almost prefer the rain cause on days when it is hot, it can be unbearable! The humidity here is unreal and defiantely something that I am not used to. Somedays, the temperature can be 25 degrees outside with 90 percent humidity...which makes it feel like it is 35 degrees outside...thank goodness for Air conditioning! I have for sure never sweated so much in my entire life...and even when its not that hot, you feel soaked from all the humidity!
I am noticing that the weather affects a lot of people, especially my kids. This week they were out of control and seemed to be on a rampage everyday...my first very trying week with them and I am thankfull that it is over. Summer vacation is coming up in about three weeks and I am off on an adventture to China for five days. I will be doing a tour that includes a full day at The Great Wall, and then a day at Tian'anmen Square, Summer Palace, Temple of Haven, and dinner and a show at the Teajok Folk restaurant. I also booked another full day at a Chinese Spa...the part of the trip that I am yearning for the most!! So I am hoping that the next few weeks fly by and that I will be in China before I know it!
So I guees, can't complain cause life is good. I hope that you are all having a blast this sumemr and I am completely jealous of everyone who is camping, quadding, fishing, paddling and doing all those fun things that summer is all about!!
Take care and I promise I will update soon!!!!

Much Love, Trena xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb