DO not get on bus 4312!!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Itaewon
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone...my sincere apologies for the lack of updates this month. There hasn't been too much new and exciting that has happened...well until yesterday that is! I decided to go for a much needed workout after a very busy and hectic week at school. I have started to learn the bus system in Korea and am quite pleased with myself that I am starting to become better at getting around. The bus that goes to my gym is 4212. So off we go to the gym no problem in the bus. My friend Janice left the gym before me and I told her I would call her when I got home. There is another bus that runs a bit closer to the gym, bus number 4312. Now, I am not too sure where I got this bright idea from but I thought well 4212 is close to 4312...they must run close to each other. I get on bus 4312 and start what I think I my journey home. It passes familiar places and sights and at any moment I think it is going to turn and no problem I will be home...however, the bus had other plans for me. However, I am still optimistic that I will be okay because worst case scenario is that the bus is going to come back around to where we started right?? WRONG! By the time I realized that I should have got off the bus about 25 minutes earlier, I was in the middle of nowhere, the only person left on the bus and on what looked like an interstate highway!! Thankfully,I had my subway map on me and could figure out how to get home that way! What a nightmare and definately not a shortcut in getting home from the gym. It took me almost 2 hours!!! Uh so that was my adventure on bus 4312...never again...

This past week, we had a parent open house at the school. This is where each classroom has the parents come into school and watch you teach and also a time that they can interrogate you...I mean ask you questions about how their child is progressing. Mine was on Thursday and it went really well. All of my parents seem really happy with me as a teacher. I actually had one mom say to me
"E Wan came home one day and said that you were wearing a pink shirt that he really liked...he told me I should go get one so I can look like Ms. Trena!!"
I thought that was quite humorous and very flattering. The school system is very different here in that we are allowed to pick up our kids, hug them, pat them on the back and really show them affection. My kids are always telling me how much they love me and always want to know if I am a happy teacher. I am enjoying the job more and more as the time goes on. Somedays I wish I didn't have to teach afterschool kids and could just stick with Kindergarten but can't complain!

The weather here has been phenomenal!! All last week it was above plus 30 degrees and the humidity here is unreal! We have had one day of rain in about two weeks...it was a bit cloudy today and a little bit drizzly, which I was thankful for. But the humidity makes me the most uncomfortable, still adjusting to that. I am looking at purchasing a fan...although the air conditioner is nice, I think it will be a bit much to run it all summer!!
Today, I hiked up Seoul tower with James, he's the music teacher at Sullivan. We had a great day! Started off with a great brunch at Jules' cafe...then a great view from the top after a tremendous humid hike, and a joyful easy bounce down. The view from the tower is pretty great and it gives you a birds eye view of Seoul. I enjoyed seeing everything from up. It was a bit cloudy outside but kinda nice that is wasn't blazing hot for once...
I have also been slacking in my picture taking but I do have a few that I will add into my next update, which I promise wont take me as long as this one did.

Love you all very much and hope to hear from you soon!!
Treens... muwah~!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb