It's a good thing they're cute!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu » Dalseo-Gu
April 11th 2008
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A month…a whole month has now passed since I stepped foot on the tarmac of Incheon International Airport. I remember thinking that chances of me actually getting here were impossible, there were just too many hoops to jump through and I lacked the bounce to get through them. Well here I am hoops take that! Have I mentioned yet that I am thoroughly enjoying myself…because I really am!

The week flew past again, it’s odd how fast Friday arrives…and then once again Monday sneaks up on us, a reminder of why were are really here and how we can afford to have a good time in an exciting part of the world! I have been trying out new games with a couple of my classes because the monotony of lets say…alphabet bingo can really start to drive you loony! I tried out an alphabet board game which has been a real hit amongst some of the kids…I think they just like rolling the dice and screaming out how many spaces they get to move…screaming this out of course directly into my ear, lovely!

The plants that our classes planted last week have really started to sprout…well most of them.
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

look at the slogan on this...goood stuff!
I have a couple kids in both my classes that only have a pot of dirt still. Guess who one of those pots belongs to! If you’ve been reading my blogs then you should be able to reach the right conclusion but here’s a hint, she was upset that there was no flower named after her! I told everyone that it’s because she killed the seeds when she touched them because she can be such a nasty child (the teachers not the kids!). Surprisingly though she hasn’t complained so either it’s not going to happen or she’s working on some new material for the breakdown. I had them all look into their pots today and ask their flower to grow and they all did it! It was cute.

I also had a few laughs this week mainly at the hands of my little astronaut *wink* *wink* Anny ! We were sitting around playing Rummy and all of the sudden Anny whines “Anny’s looking”… now this is the class that is always getting mad at each other for looking and telling on each other but not one of them has ever told on themselves! Also today while playing Animal Rummy
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

This was drawn by one of my students in about 2 minutes...she's like 6
Anny kept waving at her cards like she was waving to an old friend! This kid could find something to do in a small white room and good on her! Than there is Kevin who is in the beginner class and today while playing Go Fish with 3 letter words when it’s his turn he’s playing Rummy! Now this just sounds like a classic misunderstanding but you don’t know Kevin! As soon as I walk into the room and see him I am instantly sleepy! I have never seen a kid so lethargic in my life! Another nice moment today was (and dad you’ll enjoy this!) when we got back from Good Friends and Anny (not the aforementioned Anny) was all sulky and I pulled the “Anny don’t smile…don’t you dare smile…no stop it right now” on her and it was like instant smile! I was like wow it’s a tactic that works internationally good to know! I then had a bit of a scare with Lily, she kept grabbing her chest with a pained look on her face and finally I was like "Lily something is wrong please tell me" and she grabbed my hand and put it on
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Una one of Claire's little ones! She is the funniest runner I have ever seen!
her chest, when I felt her heartbeat I immediately took her to Aurora because it was definitely not normal. She went to the Dr's and today she told me her heart was broken...so I don't know whats up. Most of my classes have been giving me a headache lately as the kids kind of feed off of each other and start to go a bit wild and getting them to settle down can at times be like trying to trying to find a magazine with the headline “Britney is a Great Mother!” not an easy task. It wouldn’t be so bad if they weren’t so loud by my goodness I’ve been to concerts and stood right beside the speakers and come home with less ringing in my ears! There are a couple kids however that just make those loud noises fade away! My favourite little nerd Julian is just that bright spot I look forward to Monday through Friday! We just moved him into my more advanced class and despite being “behind” them he’s way smarter than all of them! I have given them 2 tests and on the one he’s the only one that wrote “I understood” for the
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

"Anny's loooooking"!
past tense of “I understand” and that was out of 3 classes! Today he asked me out of the blue how many countries there were in the world and I was like ummmm a lot! I know there are almost 200 real ones and than a bunch that say they are but aren’t! So Mike found out and I went and told him and he was like “COOOOL”. He loves geography which is perhaps a huge reason I enjoy him so much! We played animal cards the one day and he asked what part of Africa ostriches were from and I was like um all over and he was like “no but what countries do they actually live in” I wish I could have been all smart teacher and said “well Julian ostriches inhabit the African nations on the East coast of the continent, they can be found in blah blah blah” but all I could come up with was “um they live in the brown parts on the map” WOOOT go me and my endless supply of knowledge! He can also say hello in 8 languages…he’s catching up to me! Oops no he can say hello in 9 because I taught him how to say it in Swahili today! I think I’ll tell him how to say it in Russian on Monday and maybe Czech on Tuesday cuz yeah I can do that! I also think that we should teach him Thank-you and Goodbye in these languages as well because then he can go anywhere with a limited vocabulary…although I’m pretty sure that soon enough he’ll be teaching us how to say things in other languages because he’s like one of those super absorbent sponges with a computer chip in them…I know those don’t exist but if they did Julian would have invented them!

Anyway enough about the kids! I got my new Canon EOS and it’s beautiful! I haven’t really had a chance to use it yet though as the weather has been crappy. It’s rained since it arrived and well I’m thinking that the rain is my fault, because I seem to have that kind of luck! So tomorrow I will hope for some nice weather…nothing too hot and nothing too cold and rainy…I know it’s a lot to ask but I’m going to ask anyway! I also made a impulsive purchase on Monday night…one of those things where you’re like “I MUST HAVE IT *drag mouse to purchase button…quickly press…input your info…hit submit…wait for confirmation email…open confirmation email…yell YIPPEE!*” It’s the Lord of the Rings London production recording, the one I wanted after seeing the show in Toronto but they didn’t have one! Well I now have one and it’s just as wonderful as I had hoped! It arrived on my desk this morning. It also came with a dvd that has the songs playing with a picture slide show of the show and behind the scenes which is kind of neat. That will be my last purchase for awhile…not because I can’t afford it but because I don’t need or want anything else right now…new camera new cd…life is good! I did look up things to do in Queensland though and boy am I getting excited for that…and it’s like 5 months away! I have to go to the Australia zoo because lets face it who goes to Australia and doesn’t go to the home of the Crocodile Hunter! I also want to go whale watching and it just so happens that I will be there during peak time!

I sent a couple
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

The view from Good Friends, those apartment buildings are Daegu's version of a forest!
letters off today and to send 2 to Australia it was $1.20, this place is so cheap it’s a little disgusting at times…but disgusting in a super awesome way that most things that are described as disgusting are not! I’ve also thought of a couple more things for my mother to pack for me…I know mom it’s getting ridiculous but there are just something’s that you can’t get here…if I hadn’t been born with freakishly large feet (by Korean standards) then all would be good! Thank-god my wonderful roomie is willing to bring back some stuff for me!
Anyway I’ve rambled enough for now! I’ll keep you updated on anything interesting that happens in the days to come…assuming something interesting will happen!





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Don't you smile Anny...don't you dare smile!
LilyLily
Lily

Lily


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb