How much fun can you have in a ....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
October 10th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Alexa and SunnyAlexa and SunnyAlexa and Sunny

Oh the joys of acting like an idiot...
....Photobooth? Well lots apparently when you have sooper dooper photo booths like they do in Korea! The idea came from Japan, basically you go in, act like a goon and then have very little time to decorate the photos with backgrounds, borders and motifs.
It's so much fun! You really need a Korean with you tho to explain to you what the hell is going on, it's a little like a crazy glittery girlie production line!


....Toilet? Well lots apparently when it's floor to ceiling covered in mirrors! Nothing like having your behind reflected and beamed back to you many times over, I think many a diet resolution must have been made in this loo. Really tho, why you would want to watch yourself doing your dirty business on a toilet is beyond me. Korea is a place obsessed with image- there are mirrors absolutely everywhere you go- in the banks, in the subways, in schools- everywhere! But mirrors in the bog- too much!

Which reminds me, here is a photo of a Korean toilet. Imagine my horror the first time I stumbled across one of these beauties. It's like the first time we went to France when
Alexa and SunnyAlexa and SunnyAlexa and Sunny

It just gets worse....
I was five and I came across one of their old fashioned toilets, I think I nearly keeled over, I would have hung around to work out how to use it but the stench was too much. I've had similar experiences in the public bathrooms in Korea.
I had to use one of these toilets the other day. I couldn't believe my eyes- they had a mirror actually in the toilet but only on the bottom half of the wall. So you couldn't check your hair or make up standing, only while squatting over said toilet.

As I said, a nation obsessed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mirrored bogMirrored bog
Mirrored bog

A dieters hell...
A lavatorial jokeA lavatorial joke
A lavatorial joke

I mean what the?! And no toilet bowl to hug on a hangover...yikes!


10th October 2006

i want one!
i really really want one of those photo booths they look so much fun in all their girly, tacky glory!
11th October 2006

Ah, Morton and her brilliant idiosyncratic 'self portrait in toilet' work. Love it, dahlink. (air kisses)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb