Day 3- Singapore Zoo


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and Monkey!Me and Monkey!Me and Monkey!

This little fella was just running free- so cute!
We went to Singapore zoo yesterday. Wow! It was amazing. Far too hot though but we stopped now and again for water and ice lollies to help cool us down! They had an Australian outback section where we saw kangaroos, emus and other animals I can't remember the names of! The orang-utangs were really funny and we got really close to a few tiny monkeys who were just running around the park on the loose! It was very free and easy and it's the closest I've ever been to a lot of animals.

We saw a polar bear feeding show, crocodile feeding show (they are enormous), an elephant show and a sealion and monkey show. At the beginning of the monkey show a guy came on in tribal gear and did a tribal dance. He then used a huge spear like dart shooter to shoot a dart at a balloon the other side of the stage. It was great until he came over to me, handed me his spear and asked me to come up and do the same!! I got the balloon first try which i was very impressed with but felt like such a stupid idiot doing the
He was pretty friendly too...He was pretty friendly too...He was pretty friendly too...

...probably because he was busy eating an ice-gem!!!
tribal dance infront of such a huge audience!! They all clapped and cheered me on though which was good!

After the zoo we had dinner- pizza and a Ben and Jerrys ice cream- not very authentic I know! We then made our way to the Night Safari next door. We waited for a tram which took us through the dark park and we got off after 20 mins to walk the leopard trail. We saw all sorts of animals- badgers, porcupines, leopards... my favourite was the Mangrave Walk enclosure. I had to go in alone though- Kate was too scared to come with me!! In there they had fruit bats. I saw about 6- 2 were munching on bananas and 1 flew over my head which made me jump a bit! They were bigger than I expected them to be.

The Creatures of the Night show at the end of the night was really good. We saw owls and a python and lots of other animals. We were absolutely knackered when we finally got back to the hotel. I watched Win a Date with Tad Hamilton then wrote in my journal and went to sleep. They have really
Getting into the spirit!Getting into the spirit!Getting into the spirit!

Me laughing in hysterics as I realised he wanted me to perform the tribal dance in front of eveyone as he had just done!
good English films on their tellies here. We're 7 hours ahead of you here if anyone was wondering! Going to Sydney tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



9th October 2006

nice pics!
Heya! Nice pics there! I was gonna say make sure you get a digital camera duty free, but it looks like you already have one! Jon
9th October 2006

Wow
So glad you are having a lovely time. It looks amazing.
9th October 2006

Having fun!
Hi Beccy,so glad to see your lovely photos .I can see you and your friend are enjoying your stay in Singapore.Happy landing into Sydney tomorrow. Look forward to your call...
10th October 2006

Camera!
Hey, we're using Kate's camera actually, I'll have to get myelf one at one of the other airports. Only problem is I've got my heart set on a pink sony cybershot! I'll see what I can find!
10th October 2006

Hello!
Hi Bec Glad ur having a fantastic time! Loved the dancing shot! Pigtails suit you as well, u look like a proper back packer! Lots of love Have a fab time in Australia, thinking of u lots xxx Laura xxx

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb