Sat 5th Feb A day in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
February 5th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday was our one-day to explore Singapore
After having an early breakfast and getting our luggage sorted out for an early start to fly to Perth on Sunday morning, we took the Hotel complimentary bus to Orchard Road for shopping.

I needed a brush to clean my camera lens, so I made the mistake of going to a camera shop on Orchard Road. The Indian owner was very helpful and I bought the clean brush. He then enquired what camera I had. That was a mistake, before I knew it I had bought a wide-angle lens, lens protector and two UV filters.!! He said “are you from the UK,? I can see it printed on your forehead”, I replied “I thought that you must see MUG imprinted on my forehead”!! For one of the purchases I used my Amex Card, he came back looking rather concerned and said is this card yours? I feared the worst, thinking something was wrong with my card. He then said “The bank is very concerned – you are nor spending enough in my shop”!!

We then walked down to Raffles Hotel, where we did the compulsory tourist bit of buying a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar at Raffles.

We then got a taxi to the cable car terminal to go across to Sentosa Island where we visited Sea world and “Images of Singapore” which gives a brief history of Singapore.

We then got the cable car back and a taxi back to Clarkes Quay where we had a lovely Italian meal and a couple of bottles of Chardonnay, before retiring early for an early Sunday morning flight



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb