Back in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 21st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in Singapore, and tomorrow I fly home.

I was in Ubud in Bali, where I spent 2 days. Ubud is a nice town, centre of art etc. I bought loads of souvenirs. Visited Kechak dance performance. Those of you who saw movie Baraka will know what it is.

I visited also Monkey forest. Later I should add some pics of how a monkey grabbed my T-shirt, I await photos from my new Taiwanese friends whom I met some 3 times during my travels.
The monkeys are very spoiled, coz their are holy in Hindu religion. They will grab whatever food you have. Or try search through your bags. And are becoming aggressive very easily.

Before going to the Bali airport I visited Kuta, where are fine beaches, renowned for surfing. I wanted to take a last dip in water, last swim. But otherwise the city is unattractive, full of shops, pubs and people .... I heard for at least hundred times: "Yes, sir, taxi ? Transport ?" And also almost all the taxis passing by in quite narrow streets using their horn just to attract my attention. It was pretty stressful, as at the beginning I always thought the car is going to hit me or what. No, just wanted to get a customer.

In Kuta there were the bombings 6 years ago.

I took a night flight with Lionair, it was pretty nice, at first I dreaded it a bit, coz I read some bad stories, about delays, cancellation, but the flight was nice, and I even got a dinner, cakes, juice ... despite that it is supposed to be a lowcost airline. For Bali - Singapore I paid 71 USD (2 and half hour flight).

I did not sleep much this night. In Singapore I visited Chinatown.
So, tomorrow - bye bye Asia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Gili TrawanganGili Trawangan
Gili Trawangan

not always and everywhere a paradise as it could seem from the other pics
BananasBananas
Bananas

stocking up for the boat journey from Lombok to Bali (that bunch was about 0.40euro :)
Monkeys in Monkey forest, UbudMonkeys in Monkey forest, Ubud
Monkeys in Monkey forest, Ubud

helping out the buddy :))
Singapore airportSingapore airport
Singapore airport

probably the best one I have ever seen
China town in SingaporeChina town in Singapore
China town in Singapore

I read in the paper, that about 80% of people in Singapore live in houses like those in the background (just being built)
China town in SingaporeChina town in Singapore
China town in Singapore

buddhist ceremony
China town in SingaporeChina town in Singapore
China town in Singapore

a buddhist temple


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb