Back on Bali from Gili Trawangan island


Advertisement
Asia
October 15th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Map of my trip


Gitgit waterfallsGitgit waterfallsGitgit waterfalls

and my indonesian friends which took me there on their motorbikes
I had some hard time to recover pictures from my memory card, that's why this post comes with a delay.
My card got infected with some virus in some crappy dodgy net cafe. And after that it was showing different kinds of errors etc., even after removing the virus. I think it damaged that part of the card that "remembers" how and where the files are stored.
But luckily I could do a backup using the standard tool that comes with windows. Although it seems I will be not able to use that card anymore, it is not working even after formatting. "F" the card, I have the pics !!

So briefly, very briefly, with few pics only.

To get to the Gili islands close to Lombok island, I would have needed to take the ferry at 9.00 am from Padangbai - I did not know that.

1) So I changed my plans quickly. I went to Tirta Gangga village.
I did some trekking there, visited Water palace, and went to a Hindu temple high in the mountains (took minibus there and some local took me with his motorbike :P ).
More in pictures section.

2) From there I went to Amed. A coastal village. I did some snorkelling. They have japaneese shipwreck, which is encrusted by corals .... and lots of exotic fishes in there.

3) Been to Gili Islands close to Lombok island. It is very well know among the backpackers. There is no police, and no motorized traffic. And they openly sell magic mushrooms (and I believe also some other stuff). So it was quite normal that after the dinner they offered a dessert .... something made of the mushrooms 😊 But I dont know .... in a country where there is death penalty for drug trafficking ? 😊
So mostly I was doing snorkelling. I saw some turtles. And to show off, I'm already quite good in snorkelling. I can dive I think to some 6 metres (big progress !). Which was enough to go down to the turtle and make it angry 😊

4) I'm in Ubud now. My trip is over soon. In 2 days I take the flight to Singapore, and in other 2 days the flight back to Europe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Batur volcanoBatur volcano
Batur volcano

on the top ... with my local guide (that dog was walking with me all the time, although I had nothing for him :)
Volcano BaturVolcano Batur
Volcano Batur

and the steam that is coming from the earth. At first I thought it is a grass burning ....
Volcano BaturVolcano Batur
Volcano Batur

perfect view on the volcano from the hotel's terrace where I stayed, in the early morning
Pura Lempuyang templePura Lempuyang temple
Pura Lempuyang temple

near Tirta Gangga
Gunung Agung - volcanoGunung Agung - volcano
Gunung Agung - volcano

view from Pura Lempuyang temple
Trekking around Tirta GanggaTrekking around Tirta Gangga
Trekking around Tirta Gangga

and drinking coco nut milk, fresh from the tree. With my guide from the village.
AmedAmed
Amed

the kids of the owner of the bungalows where I stayed. they were posing for me, I did not have to ask them :)
Gunung Agung - volcanoGunung Agung - volcano
Gunung Agung - volcano

view at sunset from Amed village
Padang BaiPadang Bai
Padang Bai

port for boats to Lombok island
Gili TrawanganGili Trawangan
Gili Trawangan

a small island close to Lombok island. "All the ways go to this island". I met there most of the people that I met during my travelling ....


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb