East coast park


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 29th 2007
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

According to all the guides this is by far the biggest and best park in Singapore. Thought since I loved Pasir Ris so much that i had to add this to my list of places to go to.
The start of the park was only a few minutes from the national stadium so It was easy to find. Decided I would hire a bike as it would be far quickr to get to different places inside the park. However it was a long walk to get to a bike rental hut. It was a pleasant enough walk though so i didnt mind to much. Just before it was a golf driving range. Decided to pop in and have a shot. The place was very quiet. Only about 5 other people hitting balls. Got my 100golf balls, a club and found a good spot to start with. Hit a few balls, decent shots by my standards and decided that i was ready to put my full power behind my swing. The next thing i knew my golf ball goes flying for miles and so does my golf club....right in front of everyone eyes. Past the 50 yards sign. My hands were a bit sweaty from the heat, but I was so embarassed that i couldnt stop laughing.
I had to go into the shop and get another club and explain what happened. When i returned the club to leave i noticed the owner never said "come back soon". I think he was dissapointed in me as he asked where I was from and when i said Scotland, he instantly said St. Andrew's. Must have thought since I was scottish I could play a bit.
Got a bike and went around the park. Inside was lots of adventure play grounds for kids and i cam across large groups of school children, presumably having their day out for the summer. One group of secondary kids were in teams, buildings sandcastles. Or attempting to anyway. In the middle was a Blue Peter one that was made earlier. It was very well made and looked cool. It also looked easy to do. I gave up after a while of laughing and watching the groups arguing and debating over how to stop there attempts falling apart.
Also noticed a few young boys during the day trying to race me on my bike. Couldn't let that happen, could I. The worst thing was without doubt being next to the palm trees, the sand, in the sun and cycling past a Burger King outlet. Is there no decency left?
In all it was a good day. I'm still laughing at the golf club almost killing everyone. Think i would have broke the discus world record. Still think that Pasir Ris was better. No burger King for a start and less gimmicky


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

In a pear treeIn a pear tree
In a pear tree

While out walking I came across my lunch
East Coast Park2East Coast Park2
East Coast Park2

Bedok Pier again.
East Coast Park4East Coast Park4
East Coast Park4

Seafood resturants everywhere you look. Had to ask myself if i was dead or sleeping.


30th May 2007

Golf
Paul the nintendo Wii golf is alittle different from real golf ! Try and no kil anyone will your there and next time yell 4 or club lol Well done for trying though.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb