Burned...


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
January 5th 2006
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got burned today. Oops. I feel sleep on the beach and my face is a little burned - I apparently forgot to put sunblock on my face. I fell asleep on my back too so my back is a bit darker than my front.

So yesterday we had dinner at aria which is an intalian restaurant just a few steps down from our hotel. We had dinner on the beach - it was nice. We sat at the table closest to the ocean and it was low to the ground so we sat on pillows. I had thier penne pesto, delish! Louie, my neice had thier 4 cheese pizza which was so good it was backed on a really thin crust. After dinner we took a walk down the beach to work off some of the food. We passed this bar called "Music House" and they were spinning some euro/progressive house right on the beach (aside from the music) it was pretty nice (remeber I am a Chicago HOuse/Deep house fan). They also had fire dancers. You know how people at clubs have the glowsticks on strings - that's what there were doing but rather than glowsticks it was fire. I wasn't able to get pictures because my batteries died. I will try to go there tonight to take pictures.

After that we sat outside out hotel and had a few beers. The parents were telling stories of when they were about my age. It was funny. Our family really is crazy - and so are mom & dad. I know now where it comes from ; )

We turned in for an early night becuase we were all a bit tired.

Mom, Dad and I woke up arounf 7:00am this morning. Well actually I woke up at 4:00am because there are all these roosters next to our hotel and they were coo-coo-cooing for 3 hours straight. I really wanted to find some rocks to start chucking at them - but on second thought I didn't think that would be so nice. But I have a feeling they will be doing the same things again tomorrow morning. Anyway we had breakfast at the hotel and just hung out until everyone came out of thier rooms.

I decided I wanted to go jet skiing so Dad came with me. It was really funny. It's been a really long time since I have jet skied (maybe over 10 years). We decided to go early while the waters weren't to busy. So we hoped on a speedboat that was parked right in front of our hotel and they took us to their dock that was stationed way out in the ocean. We had to climb out of the boat onto the dock (which was made of bamboo and rubber tires) and as soon as we got out of the boat Dad looked at me and said "I don't think I want to go anymore". I giggled a little bit. I told him he didn't have to come with me but he found the courage to go (after siging the waiver - luckly he didn't look at it too closely). One of the workers took us out first to show us how to drive it. And the driver started to go pretty fast and go back and forth in the waves and dad just started to scream "Wag na lang!" which pretty much means "don't do that". It was funny. Dad was really scared he was going to get thrown of. We dropped the driver off and it was me driving will my dad in tow (not really in tow just behind me). I went slow so he wouldn't get too scared. It was fun! But it was hard to get used to the acceleraion so if you just let go the nose goes down into the water and it feels like its going to tip. Dad had me drop him back at the dock so I can go out and drive around. It was fun but I was scared to make sharp turns. I have flipped over on a waverunner before and its really hard to get back on if your by yourself so I took it easy. But I did get some pretty nice hops in (not jumps thats how I flipped over last time). I am definetly going to rent jet skis in Chicago this summer - it's so much fun. Dad kept saying "Steve and Kristina would have enjoyed this". It would have been so much fun if you guys were here - I can see us racing each other! Nonetheless it was quite the experience with dad. We had tons of fun. I really think he was just happy to get off of the jet ski.

After that i just laid on the beach. I went in the water when it got too hot and then just went back to my lounge chair when I had enough of the salt water in my eyes. I fell asleep on the beach listening to one of Chris Sanitago's mixes on my mp3 player....i burned a bit. Apparently i forgot to put sun block on my face. It's just a little red. I fell asleep on my back too so I think my back is darker than my front. Oops!

So I am not sure where we're eating for dinner but I met some guys from San Fransisco (they are the nephews of my aunt and uncles friends who happened to be staying in the same hotel as us) so I think we are going to go out to bars tonight, we'll see.

We leave tomorrow afternoon - and I am really sad about leaving. Believe it or not I would actually rather sleep on the beach than shop! I'll try and squeeze in one more tanning session in the morning. We will probably leave the island around noon to make sure we get to the airport in time (I'm scared to get back on the boat!).

Okay I'm going to go and spend the rest of my time here out on the beach....I will blog with you all tomorrow night!

Advertisement



5th January 2006

Oreo
So, I assume with the burning on the front and the lightness on the back you will look a little bit like an Oreo with one of its sides pulled off when you get back....just kidding K~bomb!! It sounds like you are having so much fun! I would love to be privy to some of your parents stories. I am sure they have some interesting tales to tell. I am in Boston now. I think I've spent 90% of my time here lost. It is truly not an easily navigable city. I did get asked out by a bag boy at the grocery store last night, so things are looking up! Have fun~ I hope you'll be okay missing out on Country Cares...I know you really wanted to go. Try not to cry about it. xoxo h.
5th January 2006

SPF 35
SPF 35 Baby! Glad ur having fun... It sounds like a blast and OMG sounds like ur having some fab food - Do me a favor and do a little of our sister act II routine when ur out dancing - that way I'll be there with u in spirit! We miss you! Love xoxox Simon
8th January 2006

Ahh! He's right, we would have love the jet skis, at least I would have very much! Lets definitely do it in Chicago this summer! I'm so happy to read about how much fun you're having. Tell everyone we miss them.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb