Island Paradise


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
January 4th 2006
Published: January 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So we made it to Boracay in one peice. The flight was only about 35 minutes from Manila to Caticlan. When we arrived it was pouring but luckly it was just a cloud burst. It was funny becuase when we were landing it was so close to all these huts and cows that I was sure we were going to hit them on our way in. From there we had to go to the Caticlan port to take a "ferry" to Boracay. We met up with Tita Cynthia (Tita Cyn) and Tito Periquit there. It's been so long since we have seen them. They send thier well wishes! I say "ferry" because it is a wasn't like the ferrys in the states but an "old school" ferry - It's hard to explain but I took pictures to show you. It has these bamboo half cresents on each side to keep the boat from flipping over. Anyway, to get on the ferry we had to get into a dingy with all of our luggage but to get on the dingy we had to walk down a plank over all these rocks and then the workers at the port drug us through the water to the ferry. Where we had to go from the dingy to the ferry. It was kindof scary. I was sure I was going to vomit on the way to the island but it wasn't to bad. But I think I will take dramamine on the way home just in case.

The boat ride to the island was only about 20 minutes becuase we had to stop at one other "terminal" before we got out at ours. The white sands beach spans about 5 kilometers. So it would drop tourists of at the closest terminal to thier hotel. When we stopped at the first terminal there were other people boarding thier ferry but they were just walkin in the water - it was almost waist high when the tide would come in. So people were carrying thier luggage on thier heads. Luckly when we got to our terminal they had another dingy there to take us closer in to the beach. And when we got out we were only halfway up to our knees in water.

The water here is so warm and it's so clear. The beaches our completely lined in palm trees. It really is an island paradise here. It's better than the Sandals commercials.

We're staying at the crystal sands hotel. When we walk out of our room were on the beach. It's so nice! And the sand here isn't hot, it's actually quite cool.

We had lunch at this place I read about in the in flight magazine - famous for thier baby back ribs. It was so good! We had talapia, halibut and pusit (squid) also. If you are ever in Boracay (everyone needs to come here) you must eat at this restaurant - I believe it's called Cafe Gastof. After lunch I laid out for a little bit, shopped at one of the changits here (flea market) and then Mom, Tita Cyn and I went for a swim. We watched the sun set on the beach in front of our hotel. It was so nice.

I an at this internet cafe so I will have to cut this one short. I really wish you were all here with me. I know you would all love it here. There are quite a few tourists here. I even passed by some people from Boston (I could tell from thier accents). Anyway, I miss you all.

Until next time...



Advertisement



4th January 2006

hey p!
So jealous of you right now; your description of the beach makes me sad since we are stuck here in cold ass rainy Chicago! From all your previous blogs it seems like you are having such a good time! When are you heading back to the states?

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb