Boracay HIGHER


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
January 18th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After taking a shower in the evening, I could here Elaine’s voice out on the verandah, but she wasn’t talking to tita Vivienne or Nikki. When I opened the door I was surprised to see the 2 Russian guys from the other room - Artur and Staz. They were saying that 2 planes full of Russians arrived for Boracay because they were celebrating “The Old New Year”? Is that right Elaine? Well they were celebrating something.

While tita Vivienne went for a massage, Elaine, Nikki and I headed to D’Mall. While they ate at Crepes St Michel, I went around looking for a necklace to match my dress. I was out for something specific, so it was very hard to decide. After no decision was made, I went back to them just as they were getting the bill, and they were able to help me find the perfect one - and it was in the store that I bought the dress! Caught up with tita Vivienne and we headed back to the resort to freshen up. On the way there I got a henna tattoo done in old Visayan script with my name.

When we were ready, the first stop was Pier 1. What I really wanted was a hot chocolate, because I was kind of feeling cold but they didn’t have any. So I went next door to Jonah’s, they had but no take-away containers only for the shakes. Elaine treated us to balut. For those of you who don’t know what balut is, it’s a baby duck cooked still inside its shell. So sometimes you’ll end up with the fetus still really small, or some developed with the beak and bits of feathers already - like the first time I tried them in Cebu. However these ones were still pretty young; it’s quite nice actually, just add a bit of salt and don’t look at it - tastes just like any other egg! Nikki was too grossed out, she couldn’t even sip the liquid or eat the egg white around it hehehe.

Next stop was Club Paraw. The bar tenders here were really cool, and friendly … so how many drinks did we get that night girls? Poor Elaine, are you sure you don’t want that drink? :P We also had someone from “The Filipino Channel” (TFC), from the US video taping us, even interviewed! So all you people from the US, if you have that channel keep an eye out for us  We got to meet one of the producers; now the name was either Alan or Alvin, which was it? Also got introduced to the club owner, who will also be opening a hotel just across the street from the club - great discounts for us if we decided to visit again! Alright Elaine, when? Hehehe We just danced the night away, it was R&B so it was great. Plus all the songs I requested, the DJ played! The night ended just before the bar closed around 3am. As soon as Nikki and I left the dance floor, that was it, everyone else left the dance floor too!
The next morning, Alan/Alvin, Nikki and I made a promised that we would meet up in front of the resort to go for a jog - at 6:30am. Well I got up at 6am, stretched until 6:30am, where were you guys? So… I jogged by myself to the other end of the beach and back. Got back and ordered breakfast - tapsilog for today (beef tapas, 2 hard-boiled eggs, and garlic rice), hot chocolate, bananas plus a banana shake. Now you’d think I’d be gaining kilos by the second here, hehehe but how could you though with all the walking, dancing, and swimming we’ve been doing here! While eating my breakfast, I was treated with some parades from the “Ati-Atihan” fiesta. They even stopped in front of the resort and let out a couple of fireworks  I loved the beat of the drums, and the little kids dancing along. After breakfast I took a short walk around before going for a swim.

Tita Vivienne hired 2 skim boards for us to try out. The kids here make it so easy, but when we tried them we kind of just sank or didn’t move at all! Until Andy’s friend Joel came to the rescue  He’s a pro-instructor and lent us his skim board which was the proper one. We got pretty good soon after, not quite as good as him though - he could do hand stands and spins. I think if we were doing this the whole day we could have gotten further than 3 metres, what do you think girls?

By 10:15am, I decided to stop and take a shower, do my packing since our pick-up was at 11am. When it was time to go, we said our goodbyes to our new found friends and then started our journey back to Caticlan airport. This time our flight was 6K 0888 departing at 1:35pm.

We got in the plane and waited for ever and ever! I was even falling asleep; the only announcements they ever made was 2 saying we’ll be taking 5 more minutes while they were doing further servicing on the plane. Until finally, with no announcement, we were led out of the plane and transferred onto another - a propeller one! Yihheee this is what I really wanted to ride first, just to experience riding in these small planes. While taking off, there was so much smoke-like things coming out from the air-conditioning which we were told was normal for these kinds of planes.

Well, to tell you the truth I actually felt a lot safer on this plane than the one we used to get to Caticlan. About 10 minutes into the flight, the attendant told Nikki that the captain was inviting her to the cockpit. Lucky her! When we went through some tough turbulence, Elaine and I were joking that it must be Nikki flying the plane hehehe. She sat in there all throughout the flight (which now took 1 hour instead of 30 minutes), even when we were landing she was there and she got to record it on her cell! What an experience  She said that the only time the pilot took controls was during landing, but the whole flight, even during the turbulence and the long taxing to the domestic terminal - it was all auto-pilot. That’s cool! Our plane now arrived at 3:30pm, instead of 2pm. But that’s ok 

This will definitely not be the last time I’ll be going to Boracay, so all you beach bums out there, let me know and let’s plan something!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb