Boracay HIGH


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
January 17th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just had one of the best weekends in my life - and it was at the beach! I’m not a very beach person, in Australia it only takes 10-15 minutes to get to the beach, but I can count how many times I’ve been to the beaches there on my hands. But then again, when you get to this place, HOW can you NOT enjoy yourself? You are surrounded with the whitest sand (or should I say powder) you will ever see, beautiful clear waters, great food, shopping, fruit shakes, and friendly people! This is BORACAY…

Departure date was January 12, and I waited outside the village with Mel to get picked-up by Elaine. The trip was only for 3 days, and with us was her tita Vivienne, and cousin Nikki from LA. The day started of kind of gloomy, it even started to shower for awhile, but when we opened the car doors at the domestic airport, the sun came out brightly. The airline we took was Asian Spirit, a small plane but not the propeller ones (slightly larger). Time of departure was 12:30pm, flight 6K 0889. It was so exciting to finally get on board - that was until we found out that our row of seats on the plane is non-existent! Hehehe crazy, so we were sat on row 10 instead. The row was labeled and all, there was just no seats there - you would think they would have noticed if someone had taken it out right? Just joking - I’m sure there was a clear explanation for its removal 😉 Within 10 minutes of boarding the plane, we were off! That was the quickest take-off ever, no taxing down the runway, it was just back-up then off we go! I didn’t even have time to think hehehe

The flight to Caticlan was about 30 minutes only. Landing was quite pleasant - ummm yea right! It was bouncy and hard, plus when I turned around the oxygen masks on the row behind us came down. I wonder what the guests there were thinking - “We landed, but do we still put it on? What do we DO?!?” hehehe. We just had to wait awhile for our pick-up. As soon as the guy came, we took the tricycle to the pier (less than 5 minutes). From there it was about 10 minutes on motorized banka to Boracay. The ride was quite choppy; up and down with splashes (if you could call them that, it was more like buckets of water being thrown on you!). When we got to the pier there, it was another 10 minutes more to our resort by their “jeepney” - it’s more like a school bus like the ones in Cebu.

When we got to the resort, we were wondering why it was called “Nigi Nigi Too Resort”, instead of “Nigi Nigi Noo Noo Resort” (yes these are real names). The guy said there’s another one about 15 minutes away, this one we’re staying at just re-opened 15 days before after renovations. I was glad that we were able to get the hut-style room which I was sharing with Elaine; tita Vivienne and Nikki had one of the modern rooms, just across from us. The rooms had no numbers, but names instead; our hut was Iguana, while theirs was Papaya. Even if we were in a hut, our bathroom was very modern with heated water and flushing toilet (as if I was expecting anything else from a resort hehehe).

The first thing we did when we arrived was take a walk up the beach (which was just a step-off our verandahs), and look for somewhere to eat. Elaine suggested we try Jonah’s Fruitshake and Restaurant (little did I know that this place will be my vice for the rest of the trip). I had a banana peanut chocolate shake, and a taco salad. Awww this is the best shake I have ever tasted (besides BOOST JUICE that is). Man we were so full afterwards, we just had to walk it out. We checked out D’Mall - there was just so much to buy there! We returned to the hut to have a little siesta, then woke-up and visited the Papaya room and stayed there until 8:30pm. I even fell asleep!

Elaine and I then returned to our hut and got ready for a night out. We all went together to Bom Bom; a reggae bar with live bands. The performers were changed every hour or so, and all had long dreadlocks. Music was good, I didn’t like the first singer though, and his voice was kind of croaky which was too bad because the songs he sang were nice. The next guy had a really nice voice, and sang good songs too - “Red red wine…” hehehe. We then went to Crepes St Michel and shared a mango and peach crepe with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce (I think they call it “The Great Heart”), mmm it was good! We returned back to the hut; Elaine and I were too tired to go out clubbing tonight so we were in bed by 12:30am.

The next day when I opened my eyes it was still dark in the room, so I thought it was still was early, but when I looked at the time it was already 7am! I knew it was showering outside because you could hear it hitting the roof, quite a soothing sound so it was nice. I went out for a jog up the beach up to D’Mall and back, it was just a slight drizzle now. One thing I have noticed here though, is that when it rains it’s more like mist and not pouring rain. It felt so nice to jog barefoot along the beach, it’s quite an exercise! Took a shower, and while Elaine went for a jog I had breakfast - longsilog (longanisa, 2 poached eggs, and garlic rice), hot chocolate and a calamansi shake. Breakfast was included in our package so woohoo! Andy was the bar attendant here, very friendly and helpful. After breakfast, I was so full I decided to go for a walk to D’Mall and do some shopping.

I was able to buy a red dress/top for clubbing tonight. Really cheap, only AUD$8 and it’s so pretty! I wanted to find a necklace for it, but couldn’t decide. On my way back to the resort, I ran into tita Vivienne and Nikki. Also Elaine called out from Jonah’s, she was having her henna tattoo done, a dolphin.

Back at the hut, I got ready for a swim. The water at first was cool, and it became nicer as you put your whole body it. It felt so fresh, and unlike when you get out of the waters in Australia and you get this cold gush of wind, here it was warm and you didn’t feel cold at all; I love it! After awhile, Elaine came too, then we sunbathed for awhile. We got our “Welcome Drinks” - I choose a tropical shake which had banana, mango, and pineapple.

Around 1pm, tita Vivienne hired a banka and snorkeling gear. We went out to the snorkeling spots with bread so that the fish would come to us. The fish were small but there was an abundance of them, all kinds. How many times did I hit my head on the bamboo of the banka?!? I can’t even remember hehehe The water was kind of choppy again and I was kind of getting dizzy, it didn’t help when I gulped a mouthful of sea water either - YECK!

Back on the boat, we headed to a private little beach cove where there was a small restaurant called Baling Hai. I shared with Elaine a portion of her pineapple and banana pancake, and drank mango shake. At 4pm, we headed back to the resort. I left them to go to Crepes St Michel, but when I got there and tried to order what I wanted, they didn’t have the ingredients like - buko pandan, or the other one peanut butter. So I went to Jonah’s instead. I had a banana peanut vanilla shake, and vegetable enchiladas. Yep, this is just what I needed. When I got back to the resort, Nikki and I went for a swim. It started to rain, but that didn’t dampen our moods, we actually ran around like headless chickens hehehe.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb