Boracay


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
January 7th 1993
Published: January 7th 1993
Edit Blog Post

Looking Back: Boracay - Jan. 1993. The first time I went to Boracay was after I met Margrit in Bangkok. She is from Hungary and has travelled a lot. I also learned about the Lonely Planet guides from her. At the airport in Bangkok, I bought several Lonely Planet guides, of course, I got a Phillipines guidebook.

I travel in the Philippines but to places where I had relatives. I began to travel to Cebu in my late teens, I have an uncle whose family is based there. After my friends and I graduated from college, our first trip together was in Cebu. I'll have to write a blog about that trip.

Back to Boracay, I went with my dad in 1993. We arrive at the island of Boracay at about 7:00pm. We took a plane bound for Kalibo, Aklan; then rode a tourist bus to Caticlan. From there an outrigger boat took us to the island paradise ( about 45mins.). The place was full of colored lights and ornaments from the Christmas season was still hanging around the beachfront resorts.

We stayed for a week and we stayed about two days in Lorenzo Main then moved to a lower priced cottage resort. My dad enjoyed the clear waters and powdery white sand (that they say doesn't heat up even if the sun's up). He met other travellers and befriended a local guy (who was very likable and help us tour the island).

I enjoyed the sunsets everyday. The changing colors of the sky. People gather by the beachfront to watch the sunset.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb