Back to Bohol


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bohol » Panglao
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Looking Back: Bohol - Aug. 2006 Bohol. This is one place that I would want to visit time and again. I went here this time with my two cousins from Cebu. We boarded the fast ferry craft, Oceanjet bound for Tagbilaran. There were no more seats available in the air-conditioned section of the cabin so we seated on the second floor open-air section of the craft. This time I had a digital camera and i started taking pictures of the pier in Cebu. As the ferry sailed, I noticed that my digicam stopped functioning. I was getting upset because eight years ago, my friends and I went to bohol and my camera also stopped working after taking a few shots. I thought to myself my cousin brought her camera along so I can have just my picture taken by her 😊 I won't let my non-working camera ruin this trip.

After arriving at the port of Tagbilaran, we went to BQ Mall, had lunch at Mogolian Stop and bought snacks and bottled water in the supermarket. We took a cab going to Panglao Island. We first stopped at Alona Beach looking for accommodation. We settled in Dumaluan Beach Resort (where my friends and I stayed eight years ago). It has renovated the nipa fan room cottage., it has a swiiming pool and there is a new building under construction. I think most of the rooms are now air-conditioned.

As soon as we refreshed ourselves from the travel, we headed to walk along the beach. I think this area of Dumaluan Beach and Bohol Beach Club has the widest white sand beach in Panglao. It was low tide that noon. Surely my cousin took my pictures for that day.

We seated near the reception area after our beach walk and was planning our city tour the next day. We were observing the coming and going of the cabs and vans for hire. We were able to get the number of Varescon taxi and asked if they can pick us up the following day and also asked if we can hire their cab for a city tour. They said yes. We were so glad about this since it is expensive to hire a van if you are travelling by two's or three's.

In the morning, i began to check on my camera again. . . i'm just so happy that it began to work. So having breakfast early, we had time to swim and walk along the beach again. It was high tide that morning, as we were walking along where the colorful beach flags of Bohol Beach Club was stuck to the ground, the guard on duty was stationed (where the boundary between Dumaluan and Bohol Beach) called our attention. He said we can walk along the beach (down there where the water is) but not at this dry part of the shoreline. It was high tide, we were just passing through. I told my cousin, it's like deja vu, eight years ago, my friends and i were walking along the beach infront of Bohol Beach Club, the guard on duty also called our attention.

I like Panglao Island but this part is a sad thing. In Boracay, you can swim infront the beach of a high-end resort, walk and sunbathe there too, they won't shoo you out.

At around 10a.m. we checked out and started our city tour boarding the Varescon Taxi. We were glad we started out early, we were first to be up there in Chocolate Hills. The tour buses and vans started arriving as we were leaving the place. Our next stop was the Loboc River. There was also a small tarsier sanctuary. Then we passed through the man-made forest, blood compact site, Baclayon Church.

We checked in at Chriscentville Pension (the staff is friendly and they have free shuttle service to the pier) late in the afternoon. We checked out the new mall of Tagbilaran, Island Mall. We found bargains, it's like an outlet mall. My cousins and i bought some clothing stuff. It was cheaper than the malls in the big city. Same brand of clothes.

On our third day, we were sort of on a food binge, the food was cheap and good. We spent the morning in BQ Mall, it's 2 minute walk from Chriscentville.

I'm just happy that my digicam began working again day two so I can take pictures of the scenery of Bohol.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



9th May 2007

Interesting blog and nice photos
10th September 2010
man-made forest, bilar

Great Experience
I been there twice during my vacation in PANGLAO Island in Bohol... i was amazed!!! and ireally wanna go back. The Place was peaceful ,beautiful and it feels great! Love it
10th September 2010
chocolate hills, carmen

God creations really amazing and wonderful

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb