The Guru


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
November 25th 2011
Published: November 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The GuruThe GuruThe Guru

This was a very strange experience! Hari the owner of my hotel sweet talked me into meeting the Guru. I think I was more of a conduit for Hari to meet him. A bit like the Guru was a conduit for Shiva on Earth. It was a bit awkward when a man in front of me kissed his feet, I didn't, but you can probably judge that on the Guru's face!
Today Hari, my hotel owner asked if I wanted to go to a meditation festival on Phewa Lake in Pokhara. It was to celebrate a form of meditation, and of course this was led by a Guru.

Many people believe that the Guru is Shiva on Earth.

Hari, managed to get us back stage passes to meet the Guru. I was ushered to meet him and I realised this experience was more for Hari than me but the end justified the means. I didn't feel comfortable kissing the Guru's feet and this is evident in the attached photo!

The whole experience was amazing with so many people wearing yellow for Shiva and continuous chanting. I couldn't help but think that this was a little bit like "Hill Song" as the people in the boats had to pay 1100Rs to sit in them so they could "levitate" better with the Guru.

I didn't see anyone float in the air unfortunately, but hey, whatever floats your boat (get it?)

Anyway, I finished the day with 120Rs dahl baht and speaking to Hari about the burping benefits of Coca Cola!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lining upLining up
Lining up

People lining for a seat on the levitation boats
Meditation festivalMeditation festival
Meditation festival

People paid 1100Rs to sit on a boat to listen to the guru as they believe it allows them to levitate better.
HariHari
Hari

Hari is such a sweet man. He always offers me tea, mo mos and food around the hotel and always insists on sharing. My favourite quote has been "I like Coca Cola, its good for my burp baby!"


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb