The Lake City


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
May 18th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I've had quite a busy week so I have three new blogs lined up for you all!

Having put myself through a great deal of mental and physical exertion in the past month, I decided to take a little break in the holiday city of Nepal: Pokhara. It's such a beautiful place- it made me realise how disgusting Kathmandu is in comparison!!! In Pokhara, there is a huge lake called Phewa Tal, surrounded by the Annapurna Range of the Himalayas. Early in the morning, you can clearly see all the peaks around- its just so beautiful! Not only is the scenery great, but there are many restaurants, and the water is clear (the water in Kathmandu is yellow)!!! So was really nice and relaxing.

On the first day, me and Roshina decided to go rowing on the lake- when you see other people doing it, it looks so relaxing and easy- oh how I was decieved!! It was physically quite tiring, and the wind kept blowing us the wrong way!! Other people in boats were laughing at us, which is something that I have become used to in this country- we were able to get where we wanted without needing anyone elses help though, so I was happy!!! After that, we just relaxed and walked around.

The next day, I went paragliding!! It was so fun- you basically have to run off a hill and fall into the air, which was slightly alarming at first. But when we got in the air, we could fly with the eagles and see a whole view of the city and lake. It was really beautiful, and it was a great feeling to be flying! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who isn't afraid of heights.

After this, we headed off to Lumbini, the birthplace of Buddha...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb