The Architecture of Nature


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Himalayas
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!! I just realised that the blog I wrote after meditation never got published! I am publishing it now, so sorry for the delay!!

Anyway, after meditation, I went trekking on a trail called Langtang! It was sooo beautiful, but really tiring. I started out at a little village called Syabru Besi, and basically followed the trail up to the Himalayas from there. It took three days for me to reach my final destination, Kyanjing Gumpa, a village in the middle of the mountains, with the most amazing views. It was excellent but at points, my legs felt like they were hanging by a string! We had to ascend about 1000m a day, so there was alot of climbing, and we'd walk for maybe 7 or 8 hours a day- which is really something for me, as I am not sporty at all!

The Langtang trail is the shortest in Nepal, but also really beautiful in its variety of flora and fauna. It starts off at about 1900m, with the trail following the Trisuli river upstream. It goes through really beautiful forests and passes waterfalls- it really reminded me so much of something out of Lord of the Rings. The nice thing about it though is that even while your in the forest, you can see the snow-capped mountains looming ahead of you. They really are so huge, and it makes you realise how tiny you are in comparison!

One of the main stopping points was on the second day, at a place called Ghora Tabela. It was at 3008m, but a valley which completely flattens out so you can see the mountains and hills on all sides. From here, all the rhododendrums began to blossom as well, so the place was full of colours.

At Kyanjing Gumpa (about 3900m), we were literally in the Himalayas, so you could see maountains on all sides! It was so beautiful. I spent the day sitting on a rock (or inside when my hands became too numb with the cold!) making sketches of the formations and just appreciating the view!

The trek was really difficult at times, but I'm so glad to have been in the mountains before I leave Nepal! In a way, I think you don't really see the real Nepal unless you go up to the mountain villages, where they still have to carry everything up using manpower and horses, and people have no electricity, and use old-fashioned fire stoves to cook etc. It was interesting to see all these things as well as the scenery.

Thats all I can write for now! I am planning on doing my last part of travelling next week. I plan on going to Pokhara to rest my legs!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb