Wrestling snakes bare-handed...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Apparently I am supposed to keep quiet about the '2 sniks fighting a couple of days ago', in case I scare other residents. Now one snake is bad enough but all out snake warfare is a little bit challenging.

I'm back at the monastery I visited several years ago, due to leave today but apparently there is a random general strike and no taxis, buses or any public transport. So, Im temporarily stranded. I have just witnessed an amusing monk/goat/dog episode, with a stray goat having wandered into the dining room. The monastery dogs gave chase, and the monks, trying to protect both dogs and goats tried to seperate and distract the two using only their monk caots as distraction. All seemed to be going well until one dog broke through the barrier. The last I saw was a goat being chased by a dog being chased by 2 monks , all running hell for leather!

So the drill is, woken up by cuckoos around 5am. By 6 I was already on the road down to the nunnery. The round trip is 45 mins and great exercise. Back home, fully exercised and ready for breakfast by 7. I arrived several days ago and was greeted by 'hello Shally I think you came 2 years ago and were thin then. Now you a little bit fat ' :/...only a monk could say that and get away without being slapped!!

Gotta sign off for lunch- served at 11.45 here. May be lucky and get picked up by a friend this eve...don't get me wrong it's a fantastic place to be but my travels are now short and there are things I want to do in Thamel ( touristy part of Kathmandu) so leaving today would be good. I've just been told by cybermonk to type fast so must dash. Byeeeeee!! x

Advertisement



21st May 2008

Come on! Come on!
Come on, come on! You can't skive off in the middle - we need more news, and now - not tomorrow! Don't allow food to get in the way. You know what the monk said, 'Shally, I think you came two years ago and then you were thin. Now you are a little bit fat' - so don't let food stop you. Anyway that was about 6 hours ago; are you still eating?? Hope all goes well with the strike; trust it to happen now! Allswell here. Renovations creeping along but hopefully the bedroom and bathroom will be ready for Sue and Bill. Take care And now ......it's time to to have a blow out. Whfuff, the food I have got in the fridge; you would not believe it! Lol XXXXXXXXXXX
21st May 2008

Oh......the dogs and snakes! I wish I was there with you. Please take tons of photos. Yuba Raj said he met up with you again in Delhi. Can't wait to hear more stories. Be safe. xoxo

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb