Very nasty Varanasi.......


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
May 11th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Actually, it's not but it made a great title!The only very nasty things are presently a) The overwhelming heat b) Scam merchants scamming away at full scam c) The alleyways full of dung/litter and flies ( often quite smelly).

So, I arrive in Varanasi early morning and get picked up by a hotel driver. Once again smug, I'm thinking 'this is too easy'. However, silly me, I should realise nothing is straightforward over here. On reaching the hotel I am told the air- con is not working but I can have a room with a fan, however there are intermittent power cuts. So, I go to check the room up this dark, narrow staircase and it's on the 4th floor. By the time I arrive my face is beetroot, the room feels like a sauna and it's only 9am!! Long story short, I completely blow my budget again and move to an A/C room in a mid-range hotel with amazing views over the Ganges and a tree outside where I can watch monkeys stealing various foodstuffs off a shrine below then scampering up their tree- haven to scoff their loot.

Varanasi is completely fascinating...and worth the hassle. It's the hindu sacred city which every hindu should try to visit once in their life. Its also supposed to be very good to die here ( I decided I might come back later to try that one!!). Hence there's lots of very old and fragile people being openly cared for by their families,and shrouded dead bodies being carried in procession through the streets ( first time I met one it was about 6 inches from my nose!).

The ghats in Varanasi lead onto the Ganges and this is where many daily rituals are carried out. The burning ghats are where open air cremations are carried out ( no photos allowed), but at the other ghats, washing ( oneself and ones animals!), prayers, rituals, mediatations are all carried out. In the mornings all sorts of ablutions take place ( one man emptied the contents of his nose in front of me...I know how he feels having experienced the pollution and dust-your nose feels continually bunged...but don't worry I refrained from following suit!)

Had a slight Morgan disaster in Varanasi as had an allergic reaction to something, and my arms, legs, chest, neck and face came up in a rash ( so what's new!). Have blamed it on my anti-malarials or DEET , hence have had to give up my anti-malarial protection. So change of plan, decided to head to the hills where cooler and no malaria risk. Spent nearly a whole day in Varnasi trying to amend travel plans but all seems to be sorted now.

In Varanasi I met a man with a 10 rupee pierce stuck in his ear. I didnt want to stare too much but ( like many things in India), it seemed a little odd. I later found out that sometimes people use their ear to store spare change ( yes it's true!). I will put the idea to workcolleagues that perhaps they might want to abandon the use of tills/ whatever and use ear power instead!

The one evening I was sitting in my hotel drinking chai ( with drowned mosquito in it...I spend all my time trying to avoid the little b*****S and they arrive in my drink!)I heard a bell going off and thought it was a fire alarm so headed down to investigate. Instead it was some Hindu prayer ritual with this automatic bell machine. It was the strangest contraption ever...( like something out of the game Mousetrap)...you pressed a switch, which knocked a lever, which hit another lever which then caused these 4 bells to ring. Bizarre. I sat and watched this for about 10 mins and just as I was about to get my camera out it stopped. Typical!

I tried to blog from my hotel but decided the computer might have a tiny virus problem as it was sending out multiple spam ( see photo!!). I told the manager it needed attention. The managers response? You switch computer off and try again in an hour!

Anyhow, heading off into Ghoom town now ( next to Darjeeling).Got some serious temple- hopping to do before the rains come this afternoon!catch you later xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Burning Ghats....Burning Ghats....
Burning Ghats....

Wood being weighed to exactly right amount to cremate a body...
Bathing In The GangesBathing In The Ganges
Bathing In The Ganges

Never mind that at least 30 open sewers discharge directly into this...
Modelling 10 Rupee Pieces....Modelling 10 Rupee Pieces....
Modelling 10 Rupee Pieces....

With Yuba Raj, friend of Alias, back in Delhi briefly after Varansi


12th May 2008

Empowering the Coaching Relationship
Hello, Sally. Seems like your having a very interesting time. Your blog is very inspiring and you should be very proud of what you have done to date. You've not mentioned whether you've attempted to coach anyone yet. Although, I can see you are definitely empowering yourself. Talk about reframing negative statements and overcoming limiting beliefs! Moving to an air-con hotel overlooking the ganges was a master stroke. Well done! I look forward to your next entry. In the meantime, I trust you will remember to touch yourself appropriately... to anchor your positive state when you need it most. Enjoy your journey. Keep smiling
16th May 2008

4* hotels are more your thing....
i'm glad to hear you have moved somewhere nicer. Sounds like your travels are exciting (of course) and full of dramas (what else would we expect!). Have fun! C x

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb