Too much monkey business........


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
November 30th 2011
Published: November 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm on monkey overload . I have to look right, left, up and down before leaving my room as I never know where the next assault will come from. Yesterday a large male appeared in my room ( lured by the smell of bananas no doubt!), I screamed (these are not nice friendly monkeys, they are wild, potentially rabid and can bite if overprovoked), a man appeared with a long stick from nowhere just as Frank ran in to save me.He ordered the monkey out, but a battle of male egos ensued, with mr monkey screaming and baring his teeth.

More commotion last night-we are living in the middle of a monkey playground/war zone. Daily we watch neighbouring troops screech and fight as they stray into each others territory and last night world war 3 was kicking off big time. There were baby monkeys hiding outside our window and just as we headed over to look at them a monkey came flying from nowhere, slammed into our window ,banged on it with its fist and bared its big yellow teeth ( I highly recommend a course of tooth whitening!). Luckily no glass shattered, but they are pilfering everything outside our door, I even have to be careful where I hang my washing!!!

So, 3 years on, back in India, currently in the lovely Rishikesh where the Beatles hung out to write the 'White Album'. I just found out the song 'Why don't we do it in the road?' was written about monkeys mating so evidently their presence here has been strong for ooh ages!

Heading off for food and early start for yoga tomorrow (at Raj Palace- Alia!!) but more shortly and photos!!

Advertisement



2nd December 2011

Raj Palace...
It's all coming back to me. Wonder if a slim guy called Suneel is still teaching there. Wish I was with you and kiss all the monkeys for me :) xo
2nd December 2011

back on the road...
hey sally, i love to read your story's, sounds like quite an adventure. while you were chasing the monkey, we try to grab some snow in the swiss mountains :-) have fun, take care xxx

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb