Flying out today


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
October 16th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone! We had a bussights seeing day. It was one I'll never forget. Out first stop was the Monkey Temple, Buddhist temple on the highest hill in Katmandu. Obviously it was named for all the monkeys that inhabit the area. It had a view of the whole valley, but the air quality is so poor you really can't see much.

By the way, today was the first day of a huge two week Hindu festival so the traffic was terrible. The second spot was very disturbing to me. It was along side the "most holy" river in Nepal. I think it was called the Great Place of Cremation. the Hindu people believe in cremation of their dead. This area is where they do their cremations, all out in the open. Large stone platforms, called Ghats, line the river and separate areas are for the different castes. The caste system is still used in Nepal. When the cremation is done they sweep all the remains and ashes off into the river. There was one happening to the time. The river is extremely polluted, beyond words. I think it had several of us very uncomfortable. Young boys were down in the river looking for the valuables of the dead and all I could think of was how diseased the water was. I wanted to go drag them out.

Luckily we ended on a better note. The last stop was the largest Buddhist Stupha in Nepal. It was located in a part of town called Little Tibet. When the Chinese government took over Tibet many fled here. This area is where many of the settled. The Stupha is surroundemy by buildings so it blocks out the traffic noise and the beggars are not allowed in. It was the first attractive place we had seen. Inside this area is a large artist colony on Tibetan monks that paint some of the most beautiful artwork. We went into one studio and were shown how it is done and what the lives are like while training to do this craft. It was a very peaceful place and I think we all enjoyed it. Also all of the proceeds go the Tibetan refugees.

We came back to the hotel for lunch then we went to an area called Thamel. It is market area. Very little narrow streets with anything and everything. You can buy fake brands of all the mountain brands, North Face, Mountain Hardware, etc. Those of you that know me well know I don't like to shop. Well, I think I found a way to make it fun... Go with a world famous mountain climbing guidI in Nepal, Land of the Mountains. Lapka was my personal shopper and I do believe I'm spoiled. He took us to only the good stores, helped pick out the items (he really got into this) and did all the bargaining for us. It was so much fun!

Needless to say I was worn out! I stayed at the hotel, skipped the group dinner, and just packed my pages to get ready for today. We leave early this morning to fly to Lukla then start hiking. We stay tonight in Phankding after hiking for about three hours. I am so ready to get hiking Up in the clean mountain air. I think we're all ready.

I'm not going to proof read so enjoy my typo's. My roomie is Corrina from California and guess what? She's an editor! She laughed when I told her about writing the blog and having all these teacher friends following me.

I really wish I could post photos easier, but so far I haven't found a way. I'll keep working on it.

Advertisement



17th October 2012

Good grief Crystal, if you had just told me there would be a cool shopping trip involved, I would have joined you. :) Praying for your safe return- love you!
17th October 2012

Good grief Crystal, if you had just told me there would be a cool shopping trip involved, I would have joined you. :) Praying for your safe return- love you!
17th October 2012

wow
Hi Crystal- Wow is all I can say! You are unbelievable...I am tired just reading your entries. I wish you the best. Be careful and have lots of fun! Love, Jane

Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb