Nepal arrival


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived safely. The flight was good but full. I had a Nepalese young man next to me and an American on the window. The American was also a trekker, but with another group. I tagged,along with them through immigration/customs. All was good. Alpine ascents was there to meet me along with several others from our group. It seems like a nice group. I would say they are more older than me and lots of different backgrounds. A lawyer, a surgeon, an Austrialian military guy and some nerdy ( but nice) Canadians. Our guides are super nice. Lapka Rita seems to be an idol around here, but he is a very sweet guy. I can't figure out his age, he looks older but that could be all the exposure in the mountains. He has submitted Everest 16 times and was the first Sherpa to climb all of the 8,000 meter peaks, which is a huge accomplishment. Sarah seems to be really sweet and cute.

We met for our gear check, then went out to dinner. It's a hazard just to cross the street around here. CRAZY! Someone ordered dinner for us all and it was excellent! It was fried cheese and wontons for apps then rice, chicken, spicy potatoes, lentils for the rice and some type of spinach stuff. Oh the best part was something that looks like cheese pizza, but it was just dough, garlic and butter...yummy.



I have Internet access here, but I can't figure out how to charge the I-pad yet. So, wish me luck! I'm going to try to FaceTime you now. By the way, my roomie and I were already stuck in the elevator when the power went off. Adventure abounds around here!

Good night, it's here 8:20pm here.

Advertisement



15th October 2012

best wishes
Hey Crystal, Wishing you all the best on your awesome adventure! You go girl!!!!

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb