Alternative Teaching


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The MonestaryThe MonestaryThe Monestary

This is the Prayer Room, the classrooms are behind it.
Well here I am, my last day at the Monestary, I thought today would be easy but because the Maoists had called a strike all the Taxis and Buses were of the road, so Steve and I had to walk to work in the mid-day sun which was about 35. I supose we walked about 5 miles but I'm not sure.

I arived exhausted and late but am so glad I went in, I really enjoyed working at the monestary although it was frustrating at times when you would arrive to find lessons cancelled (they never told you in advance). But anyway I had 2 combined classes today and when they were over the monks gave me silk scarves which are symbolic and mean friendship and safe keeping. I ended up with 32 of them, even one of the cleaners gave me one. It was quite emotional, although I kept my tears to myself (hahahahahha)

I then had to go and say goodbye to the lady that had looked after me there and that was sad, she had a gift from everyone which was a bag, some tea and insence sticks and then Sanjan (one of the monks
Inside the Prayer RoomInside the Prayer RoomInside the Prayer Room

This photo was taken on the day of the Puja
I had worked with) gave me a bag that his mu had made, it came rom Bhutan where his family are from. I was amazed I wasn't expecting anything, just a quick goodbye and have a nice life.

This wasn't like my other projects and I didn't think I'd made that much of an impression but I obviously had.

I wanted to share with you some of the photos that I took whilst at the Monestary, I hope you like them.


After work, Steve and I met James and Andrea at the Hyatt (Kathmandus top hotel) for afternoon tea, it was very posh hahahaha, then we walked all the way back to Thamel, we were exhausted by the time we got back so it was an early night for most of us.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

My Junior ClassMy Junior Class
My Junior Class

They were not as angelic as they looked!!!!!
My Intermmediate ClassMy Intermmediate Class
My Intermmediate Class

These boys were really nice and tried realy hard
My Star PupilMy Star Pupil
My Star Pupil

This little monk was sooooooo cute and he really tried hard with his English, he was lovely
My New PupilMy New Pupil
My New Pupil

This lovely dog lived at the Monestary and would sometimes come and join my classes, well Buddhists do believe in reincarnation, maybe she was a person in a previous life!!!!!
One of the TwinsOne of the Twins
One of the Twins

This little boy and his sister were the children of the caretaker and his wife, they were so funny
Little GirlLittle Girl
Little Girl

This little girl also lived at the monestary but with extended families all living together it was difficult to know who she belonged to !!!!!
The HyattThe Hyatt
The Hyatt

Anyone for Afternoon Tea, by British Terms the tea was still really cheap but we paid almost 3x as much as we paid in the cafes in Thamel hahahahaha


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb