It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 7


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
December 3rd 2012
Published: December 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Gone Fishing... or rather been fishing - I have never been remotely interested in fishing in my life but this week I decided to tag along on the sunset fishing cruise and I have to say I really enjoyed it. I caught 4 fish which I thought was pretty good for a first attempt... Everything that was caught was taken back to the island to be cooked for dinner the following day - shame I'm not keen on fish but at least nothing was wasted...

And the sunset was just amazing... Bobbing about on the Indian Ocean in the dark was an incredible experience too, it was as if someone had painted a midnight blue canvas and splattered a million tiny droplets of white paint on it to make stars - they were so bright and shiny I felt it was there just for me. It has to be one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen - I guess coming from a town the sky is never seen at it's most illuminated best but it sure is here!

I just need to move a bit further into the 21st century and get an iphone with one of those brilliant apps that shows you what all the stars are and their constellations etc... then I can take up star gazing, as opposed to the type of star gazing I do now which mainly consists of thinking how scrummy Jon Bon Jovi is... and many others... too many to list.

There has been a vast improvement on the mosi bite situation... since my new supplies of repellent arrived I have only had ONE new bite :-) I am so relieved, it was getting unbearable but now my poor legs are beginning to heal and I can start some serious sunbathing... watch this space for tanning updates.

A very strange situation is occuring on Hudhuran Fushi at the moment... Christmas has arrived... So I'm walking through reception earlier to meet some people, dripping in sweat (most attractive) because it's about 33c today, and I find myself singing along to Mary's Boy Child by Boney M - you younger peeps wont know who they are but your parents will be able to tell you ;-) and speaking of Crimbo (apparently it's only 3 weeks away) I have decided this year instead of sending expensive Christmas cards that get thrown away after a couple of weeks... I am going to do something worthy for the environment... some of you may know that I'm a member of the WWF (that's the World Wildlife Fund NOT the World Wrestling Federation...) and so I have adopted a Polar Bear, a Snow Leopard and a Penguin... I can't wait to get my adoption certificates - I'm very excited, ok I know I don't actually get my own Polar Bear but in my world I do... Welcome to my world :-)

The alcohol situation is going well... I'm sticking to one or two drinks a week... that sounds fab till I tell you that on my island most drinks come in pint glasses! Yes, even the Pina Colada cocktail I had last night - it came in a pint glass elegantly decorated with half a pineapple... I wish I had had my camera... next time I will try to get a snap of whatever I have in a pint glass...

So on that note I will bid you goodnight - have fun everyone wherever you are...

Tallulah x

p.s.It's not letting me add photos tonight so I'll give it one more shot and if it doesn't play ball I'll add some extra ones in next time :-)

Advertisement



5th December 2012

christmas arriving!
It must be christmas - its just started snowing here in south of England - wish i was there fishing, drinking and relaxing in the sun. Enjoy reading your blogs it puts a smile on my face - keep it up - Merry Christmas - got me humming Mary's boy child now!
11th December 2012

Hahaha... I now have visions of you wrestling. That's a good idea though, I haven't even got my Christmas cards in yet, can't seem to get into the Christmas spirit. Take care. LUBNLT xox

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb