It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 8


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
December 8th 2012
Published: December 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good Evening from a lovely warm evening on Hudhuran Fushi...

I hope everyone who is reading my blog is well, this week I've been island hopping, had a very poor attempt at diving and done quite a lot of drinking - which got me into the whole diving situation to start with :-)

I don't know if I mentioned this before (if I did - I apologise) but on Hudhuran Fushi, for some bizarre reason that I have yet to discover, they serve spirits and cocktails in pint glasses... I'm thinking they give you sooooo much alcohol that they need the pint glass to allow room for the mixer... anyway, the point is after 3 pints of dark rum and coke I agreed to try diving - I was terrified and just could not allow my flotation aid to be deactivated, so whilst I did breath under water through the equipment etc I couldn't bring myself to actually dive... I saw my flippers but that was about it - the dive school have now decided they will get me on a dive before I leave if it kills them...

And to the person (who shall remain nameless) who thinks that 'just pushing me off the end of the jetty' is a good idea... think again - I will be taking you with me! Being under water and not being able to pop up when you feel like it nor being able to touch the bottom are both scary for me and that's before you even begin to think what is in the water... sting rays, moray eels and of course, SHARKS!! And the ones on Hudhuran Fushi are NOT little!!! Maybe I'll stick to snorkelling for a while.

In a bid for freedom from Hudhuran I spent a day on Kurumba this week, this is where I spent my first week on arrival in the Maldives and it was great to go back and see everyone... Thanks for a fantastic lunch guys (Myla, Jenny, Phil, Toby and Megan) It was nice too that people remembered me, one of the things I like most about Kurumba... they have really classy speed boats! Definitely the sort you would see in a movie, all sleek and gleaming white.

Anyone who is following my blogs on a regular basis will know the hassle I have had with mosquitos, so a quick update - most of the original ones have healed and I now have a new batch... only about 20 though so nowhere near as bad as I was... I still smell of tiger balm though :-)

I've put a few more pics on this blog as it was messing about last time so there's one of me with my fish and a few others... Enjoy!

Just before I go I would like to thank Roger and Helen - they're the best and have been keeping supplied with rum & coke :-)

Have fun everyone and take care - especially those on their skis and snowboards - missing you all...

Tallulah x

Advertisement



9th December 2012

Glad to hear the mosquito bites are healing and getting less in number! Take care. x
11th December 2012

Loving the blogs and the pics, you could always consider becoming a fisherwoman if that job finishes lol. Looking forward to the next blog (although I might forget and read 4 in one go like this time) :D xox

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb