It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 6


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
November 28th 2012
Published: November 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Fashion Gangnam StyleFashion Gangnam StyleFashion Gangnam Style

These guys were FANTASTIC!!
Good evening and warm greetings from a rain drenched Hudhuran Fushi

Yes, it rains here too... but it's nice warm rain - bit like taking a shower and the powers that be are being kind today, we've had sunny interludes too :-)

A quick but massive thank you to everyone who is reading my travel blogs, I hope you're enjoying them as much as I'm enjoying writing them - so much easier than sending postcards and I feel I'm finally in the 21st century!

So what have I been up to in the past few days... we'll get the name and shame bit over and done with first... The alcohol free zone is no more! A 50/50 dark rum & coke is just too good to resist! And I had a good reason which I will tell you about later...

Aside from my personal failings, I took a trip to a local island, it was very nice and quite unlike what I expected, everyone was friendly, the island was pretty too with bright coloured painted houses - really sweet, but the boat ride there and back was the best. We went in a Dhoni (which is a traditional boat used in the Maldives) and of course saw dolphins en-route... But we also saw a turtle!

It was just swimming about then it spotted us and was off - so just a fleeting glance but enough to encourage me to try diving so I can see them underwater.

I actually spent a couple of hours on the beach the other day - I need to work on my tan, a flip flop line just doesn't really cut it lol. It was very relaxing... and I'm getting a little bit more colour each day. Now my mosiquito bites (all 75+ of them - and that's just from the knees down...) are beginning to heal up and I have new supplies of repellent there is no stopping me!

Good news too about the gym... I went in there TWICE yesterday!!! It was great fun, full of loads of half naked people in there...

All getting ready for the Hudhuran Fushi Island Fashion Show!

Yes... of all the islands in the Indian Ocean I'm on the one that hosts a fashion show every few weeks... the 'models' are the peeps (male and female - couples are also encouraged...) on holiday, the outfits come from the fab boutique on the island and participants win some really lovely prizes... unfortunately I am now having to be a participant but I'm not allowed to win a prize - BOO!!

My role - to show the 'models' how it's done.. so when you stop laughing you can just start calling me Cindy - as in Crawford lol. On the other hand I get to dress up too and accessorise and then I get to strut my stuff on the catwalk... my biggest fear last night was after a lethal melon daquari and the afore mentioned 50/50 rum & coke I would end up in the ornamental water features that bedeck the bar area...

A young couple from Korea won last night and they did an amazing, truly brilliant take off of the Gangnam style video - the audience went wild... and they were very deserved winners! I got a great video of them but unfortunately no sound so I can't post it but I hope you like their pic :-)

I think that's all my news for now but I hope to tap out another blog soon with more island adventures...

until then - have fun and take care

Tallulah x

Advertisement



28th November 2012

Hey there
Hey you, glad you are having a ball! Sounds like its a fab job! Only just signed up to the blogs so looking forward to keeping in touch more. x
29th November 2012

God Im jealous
Warm rainy showers outside, boat rides, dolphins.......I wish I was there!! Have you tried diving yet? or snorkelling? Its a whole other world under the sea. Its really amazing. Take care and have fun travelling tallulah
11th December 2012

Sounds like you are having a fab time, try not to work too hard lol xox

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb