Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 6th 2007
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Kuala Lumpur last night. I left Koh Phangan (finally) then got a night boat to somewhere (never go on a night boat, it is basically what I'd imagine a slave ship to be like but we're allowed of after one night - thankfully), then we were picked up from the port by our travel agents. We were then carted around several "travel agents" who took our tickets and gave us other tickets/stickers. After having been taken to 3-4 agents we had no ticket and nothing to prove that we have brought a coach ticket to Phuket. Then they dropped us of at a petrol station and pointed at a minibus - we all thought great we've been conned. Suppringly the minibus let us on and took us to the outskirts of Phuket were it stopped at another travel agents.


Phuket is a provience, we were on the outskirts fairly close to the town but 30k away from the two beaches where all the action is. The minibus was charging 150bt to take us to the beach, the travel agents wanted us to buy there hotels. I wanted to stay somewhere have a decent sleep for the first time in a few nights and try to find somewhere to watch utd. I had 2 night booked at the youth hostel which was south of town, i had already missed one night. They took me into the travel agents, she asked me how much i would like to pay for a night, i told her 2 euros. She told me i wouldn't get anywhere for that, i told her I had a place for it (4 euros actually but i was tired and annoyed and being awkward). She offered me a hotel for 500 bt. I thought by the time i'd paid a taxi, paid for 2 nights at the youth hostel and the added bonus of staying in a hotel it was just about worth it. So i agreed and they succeeding in their little tourist trap.


Hotel was pretty nice. Phuket town is ok, not as busy as i thought it would be. Couldn't find anywhere to watch the football. Gutted. Did meet a couple of people who were going to be on the same flight with me to Kuala Lumpur and aksed if they could tag along with me as they're normally part of a tour. Haha, them following me. Glad I give the impression i know what i'm doing or where i am going.

Anyway, I(!) got them here. The dorms here are pretty good for 1.50 a night. The city seemed really nice untill we got right in it. Walking about and eating yesterday we found out that the sellers here are really aggressive, they were aggressive in Thailand but here they grab your arm. Not impressed. Do not enjoy some fella grabbing my arm and trying to show me his fake Gucci handbags.


So now what, i have 11 days to make my way to Singapore. The trip takes 8 hours, so that leaves 10.67 hours left. For what? I want to go to sipidan - which is a small island where the diving is meant to be fantastic. The problem is i have to fly in and out, and pay for the diving. The flights are 65, and diving 120 for 2 nights and 5 dives (which constitutes my advanced). Looking at my finances and what I have spent so far I am not sure it would be wise. I still have 5 months left to travel and spent more than I thought for in the land of smiles.

Will sort thru my train wreck which is my finance and post about it later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb