Sun Yat Sen Museum


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
December 22nd 2014
Published: April 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Usually I don't bother to write much about little museums I visit. When a museum is only the size of a room or two, there's not a lot to say.

I've visited quite a few Sun Yat Sen museums over the years. Nearly everywhere I went in China I could find one. He's a popular guy! The only problem, though, was that most had signs that either had no English or very poor English. Without the aid of google, I would have never figured out , why he was so popular. (The irony of that is not lost on me.) Until now.

The Sun Yat Sen museum in George Town is fantastic. I only had an hour, but was delighted to discover that I could have easily spent more time there. It's not large, of course, but everything is detailed and clear. There are tons of photos. The staff is welcoming and willing to answer questions. They even serve tea!

The museum is located in a house he used to occupy. Prior to the overthrow, some serious planning was needed. This is where it happened. It's hard to imagine the minds that met within these walls, the things that must have been said. There's even a map showing all the possible escape routes should they need them!

The museum is a gem. I'm only sorry I couldn't return to it for a slightly longer visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 83; dbt: 0.2453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb