Penang (11-14 Jan 13)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
January 12th 2013
Published: January 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Buddhism AssociationBuddhism AssociationBuddhism Association

That's right, no turtles please!
Next stop, Georgetown in the island state of Penang. a place that I have to say I'm not exactly new to. Not one bit. You see, this is my parents' hometown, and my grandma along with other members of my extended family live here, so suffice to say I've been here the odd occasion or so i.e. almost every year since I was a kid!

But as far as I remember, this was the first time I'd arrived alone at the bus terminal, and made my way to my grandma's house alone. In the past I'd either arrive with my family, or an enthusiastic uncle/ auntie/ cousin would be waiting to pick me up at the airport. This time, I'd intentionally arrived unannounced, just to see what it would be like, as if I were arriving at any other new place on my trip. So, despite having been visiting the place for some thirty years now, I just took a Penang public bus for the very first time ever!

It's funny how I recognise so much of the city, but yet actually came across a few places that I didn't even know existed! In the several dozen times I'd
Penang FoodPenang FoodPenang Food

Never miss it when you're here...
been here before, over the course of the past few decades, I'd never once set foot in the heritage area, which would otherwise be the first place a backpacker/ traveller normally goes to. Learning about the city's colonial history, past economic significance and similarities to my own country Singapore really got me reflecting over how one can know a place so well, without actually knowing it at all!

Otherwise it was a restful few days spent (sleeping alot!) at my grandma's place, and eating her home-cooked food that I'm sure I'll be missing for the next several months at least, if not longer. Needless to say I indulged a little in Penang's famous street hawker fare too. If only I could take some of it along with me for the road ahead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Char Kway Teow WomanChar Kway Teow Woman
Char Kway Teow Woman

RM7.50 and up per plate for this oily Penang favourite of fried flat rice noodles.
Kuan Im TempleKuan Im Temple
Kuan Im Temple

I remember getting a bad case of sore eyes every time I came here as a kid, because of all the smoke from the incense. Twenty plus years on and it's still the same...
Masjid Kapitan KelingMasjid Kapitan Keling
Masjid Kapitan Keling

Supposedly the oldest in Malaysia.


13th January 2013

George Town
Have you managed to visit many Houses belonging to different clans ? For example Cannon Square the Khoo KhongSi ? Also it is worth a visit to a few mural paintings in Ah Quee Street and Penang Street. There are some places of heritage interest too.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb