Happiness is a way of travel, not a destination. - Tiny People


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
July 9th 2011
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sasha

Malay is written in the English alphabet because of colonization, which I find kind of funny, and sad. Sometimes I think that with everything I've seen my mind would be the worst for "Inception."

Today I was in kind of a pissy mood haha we did a tour of the city all day, saw a fort from the 1800s, a Thai temple, a Burmese temple and a Chinese temple. I think I just got tired of being shepherded with the group, not because the group is bad, they just don't add anything, and temples I think are such a personal thing that one should be allowed to wander at their own pace and not have to walk at the same time as everyone else and marvel at the same things. There were also tons of little souvenir shops like every 10 steps it felt like which is so not the point I feel like.


Then we decided to take the bus to the beach which was SO nice compared to Phi Phi. In PP it kind of felt like a joke being shepherded with all the other white blondies...here it's like all locals, and like a third of the people or less. After walking the beach we sat down (at my demand kind of lol) in the shade (it's unbelievably hot and humid) and had a late lunch. I had a coconut shake which came in a real coconut and looked at my mom, threw my head back and laughed all the pissyness away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.2744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb