Not so wet, but still cold!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the first time in nearly two months I had to really pull the blanket up in bed. Still wearing a t-shirt and with a couple of blankets over me it was still chilly. I'm not used to it!

Anyway, today I woke up dreading the thought of having to have a cold shower, so I stayed in bed, wrapped up and read a book. Eventually hunger got the better of me, as usual, and I decided I'd better get up for breakfast. To my surprise it was not only a nice day out, but there was hot water in the showers!! Perfect!

So, after a long hot shower and a tasty breakfast I headed for the hills. I'd been reliably informed that it was dead easy to navigate round the numbered paths as they were well sign posted. I imagine this to be true...assuming you can get on a path in the first place. After wandering towards where I thought I should be heading I soon discovered it wasn't the right way. I bumped into a Canadian and French guy who were also lost, but their map was much better than my free b&w photocopy of a photocopy.

Once we found the right path, the rest was easy. It's pretty dense jungle round here so your only option is to stick to the path and follow the arrows at most (not all) junctions.

Thankfully, the rain held off so we had a good few hours trekking round the jungle before heading back into town and devouring a tasty tandoori curry.

Yet again I don't seem to have many photos of today, just one of the snake that blocked our path at one point. Tomorrow I think I'll stay here in the Cameron Highlands, which I found out today was named after a William Cameron, and go for another trek tomorrow. . . somewhere a bit more scenic. Somewhere where you can see more than the closest trees, leaves and vines every which way you look.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb