Melaka... they love their Michael Jackson here in these trisaws


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka
December 28th 2009
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

12/28
Woke up at 5:45am to the sounds of the mosque through my earplugs. Ate my free breakfast (still can't get used to the "sausages" that are really hotdogs)" and we're now en route to the Malaysia/Singapore border.
Just went through customs...it doesn't seem like they really care who comes through their borders. There really wasn't much security there. Now it's time to sit on a bus for the next 4 hours weeeee! It seems like it takes forever to get anywhere because we have to stop at every toll both on the freeway...they should have fastpasses here! Just doing some sightseeing from the bus windows....there are a ton of palm trees in Malaysia. 1st casualty of the trip...I just lost my book. I forgot it on the bus. I really didn't like it much anyway- picked it up in Ao Nang at the bookswap. I just hate that feeling of losing something even if it isn't anything important.
Our hotel is Aldy China town. It's just ok...it's basic, clean, and has AC! Just noticed that there is a red X on my ceiling...it's for the muslims when the pray (direction to mecca). Tonight I got my own room, no sharing tonight. There are 3 single girls on this trip so we will either have our own rooms or rotate sharing. We only have 1 day here so it was go go touristy stuff.
We took a guided tour on a trisaw (decorated, colorful 3 wheelers). Ours had bright yellow flowers everywhere. I guess the drivers have contests for the best trisaw...."trick my trisaw" should be a new show.... Some of them had stereos with Michael Jackson songs blaring from them...a definite sight to see. We walked around some of the historic sites, really can't saw what they were because as you know I don't care about buildings/museums. Did see a couple cool temples and some photo ops. After that we got a drink and then went our separate ways. The Aussie and I found a local food market. Had a seafood noodle soup and a beer...aw delicious. We paid less than $5 USD for our meal. Then we sampled some malaysian mochi deserts. It was a good way to end the day.
I'm bored in my hotel room...there's a tv but no english channels.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb