Bangkok-Hanoi


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
June 21st 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

210606A210606A210606A

Temple, Vientiane, Laos
Today was a free day for the group & the girls set off to explore the local sights - I am officially all Templed out! We visited the 'morning markets,' which are actually open all day & apart from some earrings, I didn't bother to buy anything, althouh there was everything available from shoes to friges! On the Tuk tuk ride back to the hotel I couldn't believe my eyes when a Canary Yellow Porche Boxter pulled up behind us! Considering you have to be wealthy in Laos just to own a car, I cannot fathom how filthy, stinking rich the young girl driving (or her father) must have been!
Aferwards relaxation mode took over & I succumbed to a Laos massage, followed by a LONG bath back in my room. For dinner the group split, with the boys eating down by the river & the girls at an Aussie owned restaurant called Sticky Fingers. We ordered jugs of cocktails during happy hour to begin & I had THE BEST pasta dish I have EVER eaten. It was penne pasta with spicy Laos sausage in a creamy sauce & although I couldn't possibly replicate the flavour exactly back home, I would have killed for the recipe! Just another reason to return to Laos I expect - my favourite country so far this trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb