Back in Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
September 14th 2012
Published: September 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The sleeper bus was not too bad tlast night, and thankfully I had met Joanne previously in Pakse so I was not sharing the bed with a complete random stranger!

It was rather strange though, actually lying down on a bed on a bus! There were only 5 of us too. 2 Germans, myself and Joanne and a local.

I didnt sleep too well, tossed and turned most of the night but I feel more refreshed than when on a seater bus.

We arrived into Vientiane at 7am this morning and headed straight to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel. It was such a nice feeling arriving back up north, having not enjoyed the south as much.

Even the second time round I still have that nice feeling about the place.

I've given Joanne a little tour of the city, we had breakfast at JoMa Bakery and I plan to get a plan together whilst here for my time in Vietnam.

I'm heading to Vang Vieng on Sunday by bus (3hrs). I skipped it on the way down south as it's typically known for the tubing, alcohol and drugs, but stories are going round the backpacker haunts that the King shut most of the bars down and the place has become quite tranquil. So probably the ideal time to visit.

I plan to visit the blue lagoon there and perhaps do some Kayaking.

For the next day or so, I'll be doing very little though. My flight to Hanoi is on the 27th and so I may even have time to fit in Phonsavan - The Plain of Jars site.

Take care

Love to all

xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb