Last night in vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I thought I'd write a quick post seems its my last night in Vientiane. It's my second time here & I still have a great love for this capital.

It seems to have the right balance; the laid back pleasant Lao attitude, the commercial district and the river front.

But I'm off further north again, this time to Vang Vieng. A place I skipped on the way south initially as the place didn't really appeal to me..it was driven by tourist or certainly 'backpackers' ready to party, mixing alcohol & drugs with tubing down the river. I'm sure you've heard of the recent statistics but monthly if not weekly travellers were dying or at the very least being seriously injured from the leathel mix of drink drugs and the river. Thankfully there have been news reports now and talk amongst the backpacker crowd that the Lao government has shut down almost every bar along the tubing route leaving Vang Vieng the quiet,picturesque place it once was.

Most of the 'old crowd' has checked out of the hostel today, everyone heading in different directions.

I spent most of the afternoon passing the time with the Liverpudlian lad. He's now left too for 4000 islands.

I visited the King Anouvong statue today by the river front. The statue, costing about 5 billion kip to sculpt, stands 8.28m tall and 3m wide, weighting almost 13 tonnes of copper. The king features holding a sword in his left hand while gesturing with his right, looking towards the Mekong River.

I'll be back in Vientiane again just before my flight out to Vietnam but for now I'm going to VV in search of a hammock set amongs limestone karst and an amazing backdrop....

Take care

Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb