Laos, old friends and relaxation


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 20th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I made it to Laos, and the whole town was booked. So after a nightmare bus ride I arrived in Vientiane and could not find a place to stay. No sleep and now feeling the effects of humidity again, we couldn't carry our gear any longer. So the crew from the bus and I sat a restaurant while each one of us took turns looking for accommodations. Finally we found one, and I ended up sharing with two other people, and they weren't my favorite. Nothing bad, but do you ever find when you talk or try to talk with someone you have nothing to say, that’s how I felt. So I opted to hang out with a Korean man and French man for the evening. It was fun until we decided to talk politics. The Korean was communist while the French man was a very opinionated writer of sorts. I didn't know how I fit in the equation, maybe just the typical American. So be it.

The next day people that I met on the bus left again on another bus up north to see more of the countryside. I just couldn't go, I wanted rest, and I
Mekong riverMekong riverMekong river

Not much water at the moment. Thailand is across the river
wanted to be alone. I walked and walked and read my book, and just enjoyed my time. And the next day was the same...

Ok maybe I should move on, so I bought airline tickets (cheap and not a bus) up north in Laos for that next evening. I was walking the streets later that evening and did a double take, is that Tyler, someone I knew from TEFL. Yup, what a small world or small south east asia. We non-stopped talked all night about our adventures. It was a treat to see someone who I did know, or at least knew for more than a month.

The next day I went to leave on the airlines for northern Laos, did I mention that my passport was at the Chinese embassy, getting a china visa. No problem, said by my travel agent, I showed her that I had a photocopy of my passport. I went to get on the plane, and guess what, I was not allowed on since I didn't have a copy of my Lao visa. I guess this was a learning lesson but the travel agent should have informed me. It took me about two
Enough saidEnough saidEnough said

A women at the market that I met, she couldn't speak english but her shirt said enough.
hours to get my money back from her and in the process of going to the Lao airline official office.

I spent more days in Vientiane spending time with new and old friends. Visiting the sites and learning of each other. Such beautiful times in a place called Vientiane, Laos.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Friend from TEFLFriend from TEFL
Friend from TEFL

We randomly ran into each other on the street. And he is from Colorado, it was a treat to hang with a familar face.
You must be very careful where you walkYou must be very careful where you walk
You must be very careful where you walk

There are huge gapping holes everywhere in the sidewalks, and they are not roped off or have warning signs.
Vientiane Vientiane
Vientiane

The Victory Monument is situated at the north end of Lane Xang Avenue and resembles Paris' Arc de Triomphe - as it is sometimes known. During the day, the monument can be climbed and makes an excellent vantage point of the city.
at the marketat the market
at the market

fixing TVs
That Luang That Luang
That Luang

The most famous landmark of Vientiane is That Luang (Royal Stupa) which was constructed in 1566 by King Setthatirat and restored in 1935. The stupa is situated 3km north of the centre of the city.


3rd February 2007

Where are you?
Your last blog didn't actually get sent to me and you haven't written in awhile... I miss hearing about your adventures! I miss you! Write soon... Love heather
4th February 2007

Great pics Maggie, this looks like a great place to visit!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb