Life in Bishkek


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Bishkek
December 25th 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route to Nowhere

A post uni trip to take as long or as little as destiny demands.

Additional maps: El Sal | East Africa | Aus Gap | Europe 08 | Europe 17yo | Other | World Trip Basic | Swift Suzuki Swift

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Pedro our wonderdog 20 secs
A Sea MonsterA Sea MonsterA Sea Monster

Having fun in Cholpan Ata on the banks of Issyk kol, you can stare are the 360 degrees of stunning scenary or go to the kids park and play with the giant turquoise sea monster slide - I think we all know what we'd do.
So it's Christmas Day, I'm at work but there is nothing in particular I'm meant to be doing and the boss is out. What should one do except of course, prat about on the net!

Firstly I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas from me to you whereever you may be in the world. Also blog wise this is quite exciting as I am moving from Blogspot to Travelblog, mainly because the old one is a rubbish layout and it is doesn't work in about 80% of computers outside of Europe and the US.

It is a beautiful sunny day here, with a good 10-15cm of new snow having fell last night. There are practically no christmas decorations except those I put up in my house this morning and it is quite serene.

I imagine you are wondering why i am hanging around in Central Asia, and the answer is that Kyrgyzstan as much as it is beautiful in Winter it is quite a bit of a pain to get around the country and so I am waiting for spring when it will be even more beautiful and easy to get around.

Kok Buro is
Marx and EngelsMarx and EngelsMarx and Engels

Ah, to have a good idea go tits up.
a sport here also played in spring and autumn where a goat is used as the ball in what has been described as mounted football. But it's more of a playground style of football where everyone runs after the ball(or goat). I really want to give it a try, it originates from the same place as Polo. But is considered extremely dangerous. But the goat meat after is said to be extremely delicious and tender.

I am sharing my house with two other Commonwealth guys - Candanian and Australian. I feel it proper in their education to give them news of their motherland! The house itself is a little decrepid but it's quite fun. No hot water but there is coal fired central heating. My housemate singed his eyebrows starting it with petrol the other day.

Well that's a snippet of life here, Have a wonderful christmas and new year everyone.

Tim





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ManasManas
Manas

The longest epic ever read or written is Manas - This dude - he's a bit of national hero (but like Robin Hood is a bit dubiously real)
Grenade!Grenade!
Grenade!

This is the biggest religious event I have ever attended.
JengaJenga
Jenga

The fish saleswoman felt like the day was going very slowly.
Balloons and BreadBalloons and Bread
Balloons and Bread

A boy plays near my new house infront of a bakery of which there are hundreds in a tiny radius. Most of them cooked in traditional ovens too.
Emrys and IEmrys and I
Emrys and I

My housemate and I as we explored the lesser seen sights of Cholpan-Ata such as the disused runway amongst the glacial erratics.


31st December 2009

Hididilido Tim!
And where is the Kazakh entry? You had such a good time there. I am sure you told me about this extremely cool Dutch guy you met there!
29th January 2010

Chill Winston
It's coming, I have to transfer all my old blogs to my new one, but I can't do it on my work computer!
18th February 2010

It is done!
There you are, eager reader, I have now updated my blog to include that part of my journey which had the "extremely cool Dutch guy" you spoke of.

Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 114; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb