Cross Country Tour


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Did I mention rules?Did I mention rules?Did I mention rules?

Just prior to taking this picture, Jenny and I were kicked off a set of swings by security guards. It should have been a sign that the folks who occupied the swings before us quickly fled the scene as soon as the guards were in sight. After letting us swing for a while, the guards came up to us to let us know that the swings were for the children. The time was was about 11:30pm, and I didn't see anyone under 20 hanging out in the park. In fact, we actually saw a couple making out in the park. The guards should have taken note. In my mind, a public make out session is a far more serious offence than a playground swing session.
As I type this I am sitting in the heat of an air-conditioned office that is not being air-conditioned. It is about 28 above out, and I am in my pantyhose. It is not the optimal situation, but a must if you aim to follow Japanese social codes and mores. My time here is starting to dwindle down, and as such I am feeling the rush to pack in every last experience I can.

I was able to cross off several of my "must dos" during a recent week-long trip across Japan. My friend Jenny and I hit all the major spots - Tokyo, Fuji, and Osaka.

I met Jenny in Tokyo on May 18th. She braved the maze-like map of the Tokyo subway system, making her way from Narita Airport to our hostel on her own. We spent three days in Tokyo enjoying the sights - and the shopping. A tourist guide described shopping in Tokyo as a "way of life and being, integral to the way of life in Tokyo." We couldn't agree more.

Tokyo is a huge city, and you can always find something to whet the appetite of foreign taste. In our case, we managed to find a delightful German restaurant in the Roppongi district. The place was packed with Germans, specifically, German businessmen impressing Japanese businessmen, each other, or a combination thereof. Being two of four women in the restuarant, Jenny and I were regarded with cautious curiosity, especially when I pulled out a little awkward German for our very friendly German-speaking server.

The next stop was Mount Fuji. It was a late addition to the itinerary because I realized that before leaving this country, it was incredibly important to pay homage to the all mighty “Fuji-san”. This involved taking pictures and waiting for the clouds to disappear so that we could have our Kodak Colour moment. It turns out a Kodak Colour moment costs about 50 yen at a souvenir shop. We never really did capture Fuji in all its cloudless glory, but a worthwhile trip nonetheless.

So, I have said I love Tokyo. Well, it turns out I am pretty darn fond of Osaka too. Osaka has that edginess that you rarely find in Japan. I saw some graffiti, a lot of crazy 80s glam hair, teenagers just hanging out, and the most diverse fashion scene you can imagine. The people in Osaka were also incredibly helpful and friendly. We didn’t ever pull out the damsel in distress card, but the kind people in Osaka seemed to pounce on us every time there was a moment of uncertainty. Several of the people wanted to speak English to us, and on one occasion I was even asked, “Which do you prefer, Tokyo or Osaka?” Evidently in this situation, the correct answer is Osaka. Osaka has it all, and I can see why a lot of foreigners choose to it make their home. Ohh and get this... They even have a restaurant that will deliver “Canadian Pizza”. Watch out Italy... “Canadian Pizza” is taking over!

Anyways, that was a trip in a nutshell. The photos probably tell the story better.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

UCHV?... No. JCHVUCHV?... No. JCHV
UCHV?... No. JCHV

I like to think of this place as the "Japanese Cultural Heritage Village." Essentially, it was an open air museum with old Japanese homes from various regions in Japan. The only thing it was missing was the interpreters.
China Town in KobeChina Town in Kobe
China Town in Kobe

Kobe was a fantastic city. Time and time again my Japanese friends and colleagues recommended visiting Kobe and now I see why. Kobe is very international and in many ways, felt very European. There were wine and cheese shops, French restaurants, and places to get gelato! Truly, a little taste of Europe in the middle of Japan. Needless to say, Kobe has a pretty groovy China Town too!
A Night OutA Night Out
A Night Out

This is back in Hiroshima, but definitely a fun pic. Here is a "The Price is Right" question of the day (Japanese style)... The fan I am holding costs a) $50 b) $150 c) $700 d) $1000 You're the next contestant if you guessed "d". In other words, the fan I am holding in my hand is probably worth more than my '89 Honda at home!


27th June 2007

Culture
Did not know Canadian Pizza has a world wide following!! Missed you on the Bike tour this year and looking forward to seeing you on your return to Western civilization or so we call it.
28th June 2007

UCHV?....No, JCHV
There were no interpreters because they were all clustering down at Watanabe's hardware store.

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb