Reasons to Make You Jealous


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tottori
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am from Canada, and not just from any part of Canada. I am from Alberta - a land of big skies, big mountains, farmer's fields, and gently rolling hills. I wouldn't say Alberta is known for its bodies of water, although I do give credit to all my fellow Albertans for making the absolute best of what we have. Indeed, one person's sandbank is another person's beach.

This is the part where I make all of you jealous, especially those of you from home. At 27 years old, I have experienced my first real beach party. It was ROCKIN'! I'm talking real beach, with whitish sand (ok... not full-on white, but much whiter than anything I have walked on), waves (of a natural variety: not made from motorized boats), and people running around in beach attire (I was not aware that so many people own more than one bikini). I even saw crabs and other "beach creatures" running around, while applying copious amounts of sunscreen on my sun-starved body. It was great - a real treat for a prairie girl.

The event was laid out to accommodate all beach party needs: music, dancing, late night gorging, massage, and chill out time. When we first arrived, the main organizer was running around frantically, never to be seen again. I could identify with him and was glad to be standing on the other side of the fence, although if I stayed another year I would consider trying to get on the committee. My self-proclaimed title would be "Communications and PR" (read: hang out and socialize). Sounds "kushy" enough, right?

This beach party was actually billed as a music festival. DJs from all over Japan came to play at the festival, as did many of the JET community around the Hiroshima/Tottori area. It was one last hurrah for the JETs of 2006/2007 as those returning home said their final sayonaras.

So we said goodbye, and now I reflect on all the great friends I have made in this very short period of time. The intensity of living here brings people together in a unique way. These are people from all over the English-speaking world who understand the evils of natto, and the humour in the phrase, "Let's enjoy learning English together!"

And on that note, here is a toast to all the fantastic people who have joined me on this great adventure. I will miss you all, and sincerely hope that our paths cross again.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th July 2007

we are jealous...
Hey Hessen, thanks for all the posts. It was great to follow you on your adventures. maybe see you in Canada soon!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb